Archive for November 20th, 2005

A Satisfied Mind


Let me take this opportunity to again tell you how rad I think Japan is. I’m sorry, but the notion of FINALLY being able to take Japanese is making me thrilled X1000. I’m pretty stoked that I can take the ESL certification next year. I am so bloody thankful I went to that seminar on teaching english overseas! I really like that deciding to do that could have made a huge difference in my plan to get to Japan. I mean, I was certainly thinking about visiting Japan, or MAYBE teaching there, but I suppose these all felt like far-fetched dreams. Learning the language was always sort of the key to unlock the dream. The key kept slipping away, you know? It was a scheduling conflict here, a missed opportunity there. It all seemed like a bit of a pipe dream. Obviously if I could choose anywhere to visit in the world, Japan would be the first, but now I really feel like I can do it.

At least I have something really rad to look forward to after graduation. I didn’t really have a good plan before. I was thinking about maybe going to art school like I had intended to do, or maybe go on a vacation to Japan…nothing really solid. I guess that’s just what happens when you are close to being done school for real.
If I take TESOL training I’ll be in school part-time, which would be sweet, and I think it’s something I’ll be really excited about. Hell, it’s like a year away and I want to crap myself! I suppose the really difficult choice is whether or not to actually go to Japan to teach. Contracts are for a year…that’s a pretty huge chunk of time! I don’t know if I could leave everything for a year. Apparently if you want to have a really great experience it’s better to go for two years. That way, you can get over the culture shock and really get into a routine. I see the benefits, but holy hell….TWO YEARS?! I dunno about that.

So the major dilemma remains…do I travel for a few weeks on a vacation, or do I give up everything and move across the ocean to the land of the rising sun? I would miss so many people! Lord knows what I’d do without my sister, neice, my friends, and Steve. These are difficult times! I haven’t made up my mind yet though.
Japan is pretty effin sweet though…oh man. Apparently Steve R. actually found a textbook term for people who love Japan and the culture. He forgot it though, so sadly I cannot share it with you folks.

So does anyone have any grand suggestions for me? I’m trying to sort this one out…but in the meantime, let us speak of more hillarious things…like videos of asians doing HILLARIOUS things.

THIS is pretty much the best video EVER.

However,this is a close second.


November 2005
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.