Archive for June 3rd, 2008

Driving me Krazy

I guess I must keep forgetting how ridiculous it is to get into the Vancouver Art Gallery, because this weekend I went to the KRAZY exhibit with Steve and Dan and we almost pooped our pants at the $19 fee to get in. The gallery must make RIDICULOUS money every day just on the cost of admission! Had I been willing to stand and read comic excerpts for an hour, I maybe would have felt that it was worth the cost, but man, $19 is a little steep to get into a gallery that is showcasing comics and video games.
I think the weirdest part was that there were things like a PS2, and a gamcube encased in plastic bubbles on the walls. It’s really strange to see pieces of almost-modern day culture encased in plastic for others to look at. I also wonder if anyone feels a sense of wonder at these game consoles? I assume anyone interested in the exhibit would already have owned, or at least heard of a PS2 or gamecube?
I wonder if that’s what it would be like for people from ancient times if they were brought into the future to view an exhibit on their culture? Would the Egyptians be like, “Yeah, I totally made that mummy, why is everyone so excited about it?” It’s very odd to have a piece of something you have sitting in your own living room sitting behind glass as if it is something to be marveled. Is it really something to be marveled at? Is it too soon? Or is this an exhibit for people who maybe aren’t part of the culture, who indeed WOULD marvel at say,how small gaming consoles are these days, and how far we’ve come with technology from our 8-bit counterparts?

June 2008
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.