The Beginning of the End

With the job coming to a close, I have a lot of free time. A LOT. Which sort of sucks, but then again, that is also a part of why I am leaving. Because there’s nothing to do. I just hate a slow office. I liked this job, but there also wasn’t a lot of stuff to do. Sure, I’ve got my average weekly tasks, but I can do those really quickly. Then there’s oh, another 4 days in the week to kill. I guess technology does that to a job.
I don’t even know how much longer they are going to be able to survive. The bank acct doesn’t look great, and other people are thinking of leaving as well. Actually, one of the staff members is actually going away to volunteer for 6 months, so he’ll be done in a month and a half. And he’s the best designer!
I wonder what it’s like to have a business come to a hault like that? This was started by two friends– do they feel a sense of failure? Actually, one of them just went on a vacation, so I guess they either are blind to how close they are to losing the business, or they are overly optimistic.
Neither one seems like the right answer in this economy.
Then again, they aren’t living paycheque to paycheque, so they’re pretty taken care of I’m sure.
I guess it’s never really the job I mind leaving, but the people that I miss the most.

5 Responses to “The Beginning of the End”


  1. 1 Jess & Clover March 26, 2009 at 5:44 am

    Congratulations on your new job! It is awesome that there will be dogs at your office. I hope Zelda is ok there too.
    Good luck with the last little while at your current job!

  2. 2 Sandra March 29, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Have fun finishing your list!

  3. 3 Deidre March 30, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    That’s how I feel each time I’ve left a job. I hated leaving the people.

  4. 4 modernmixvancouver April 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    i read the first line of your entry and i can totally relate. from january to april, i went from working an unpaid internship at an advertising agency 3x a week, finishing up my last two courses at UBC for a B. Comm degree, updating Modern Mix Vancouver on a daily basis as well as single-handedly planning MMV’s one-year anniversary party ……… but then i just finished my last exam on Saturday, my internship is over, summer is beginning and MMV’s party is coming into place. I, too, have a LOT of free time. But then again, I was told that job-hunting should be a full time job in itself!

    Vanessa


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


