Epic. Bummer.

So I get back from buying a sammich on my lunch break and am not really looking as I walk up the building steps, but blam, there’s a pigeon absolutely FREAKING OUT at the entrance. At first I think it’s just a random bird flipping out, and then I notice that its wing is hurt and it can’t fly.
Then I run through how I can save the bird, but that most people hate pigeons, so that’s not going to help the situation. So I have to leave the bird downstairs in the entry and go upstairs to call animal control. I call animal control and they tell me not to touch the bird, to let nature take its course.
This is different than what I was told by the SPCA a few weeks ago when Steve found one outside, but I suppose animal control is where the animals inevitably go for care when they aren’t domestic, so I had to leave the bird downstairs. I think it fell down the stairs, too, which is even more depressing to think about.
Not that I can go and rescue a bird and take it home with me…clearly I can’t, but I felt so helpless looking at this bird flap around. Oh lord. So sad.
I’m sure in Vancouver pigeons get killed all the time because there are so many of them, but it’s a terrible feeling seeing an animal in pain and not being able to do anything about it.

5 Responses to “Epic. Bummer.”


  1. 1 ultratoast January 19, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    When The King of Space and I were walking around Toronto we saw a cute little black squirrel dying on a footpath. We felt so redundant. Didn’t know what to do

  2. 2 Jess January 20, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Boo, that is a bummer. Sorry to hear about the poor pigeon. (I actually typed penguin first, lol.) Maybe you could have a funeral for him like they did on The Office when that bird flew into the glass door. 😦

  3. 3 Nevis January 20, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    One of the most traumatic events of my childhood was when I was walking to school…there were these two dogs that were running loose and I stopped to pet them. Then they started following me. They had a collar but no ID, so I couldn’t stop and take them home. They kept following me and as I crossed the street…they got hit by card. It was so horrible! I know exactly what you mean about feeling helpless and gulity even though there was nothing you could do.

  4. 4 Goodboy Norman Featherstone January 21, 2009 at 7:11 am

    I’m so sorry. I know that’s an awful sight. Poor little fella.

  5. 5 Christine January 25, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    That sucks 😦
    I know how helpless it feels. One day at coffee this past summer, I spotted a little sparrow with a broken beak. It had probably flown into a window.

    It was trying to eat crumbs like the other birds but couldn’t pick any up and I knew it would eventually starve.
    I called the SPCA and they said I could bring it in if I could catch it. Couldn’t catch it and then lost sight of it 😦
    I cried all afternoon.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


