Mah Boots and Mah Gloves at Mah Desk!

Guys, what the deuce, I am wearing gloves at work. And big-ass boots, and a scarf and sweater. Does this scream “unnecessary” to anyone else? Ah yes, but that would require it to actually be a NORMAL TEMPERATURE in here. Which it isn’t. It’s freezing. And the bathroom has no heat, which means that I pee in mere SECONDS so that I don’t have to spend a moment more on the cold porcelain.
I don’t mind winter, but when things aren’t at a regular temperature to keep you warm, I start to think about lighting garbage can fires and maybe even lighting myself on fire just to melt the ice on my eyelashes.
Overdramatic? Yes! But still, it’s so cold I’m wearing gloves and it’s not that easy to type with gloves on. Hell, I’ve even got a space heater on my feet!!! And I am STILL cold!
I also busted a giant crack down the sole of one of my beloved boots, so I bought this stuff called “Shoe Goo” on the weekend in a feeble attempt to fix the problem. Little did I know that I had literally cracked the bottom of the boot right in half! There’s pretty much no going back now. It’s unsalvageable. And no, I can’t get them re-soled because that would cost more than the boots! They are vintage boots from Brazil, so I think I was pushing it in the Winter months. Ah well! I just hate shelling out money for stuff like that when you love it and then it wears out.
Lord, sometimes I even wear this cardigan that I love that has two holes in the front. I can’t give it up! I’m just going to assume someone else does this once in a while as well so that I don’t feel so gross!
Also, I remember shoes being like $120 for a GOOD pair when I was in high school, now all the good pairs are like $200-$300! Ack! Bye bye money, I’ll always remember you!

9 Responses to “Mah Boots and Mah Gloves at Mah Desk!”


  1. 1 Jess December 18, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Ah, being cold at work SUCKS! I guess you won’t like me if I tell you that my office is sweltering – we are at 25 degrees right now, and that is the lowest it has been in a while.
    Haha, bye bye money is right!!

  2. 2 Deidre December 18, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    I hate that everything is getting expensive. I guess that’s how it’s going to be from now on. They’re even preparing for “civil unrest” here in the states. Crazy.

    I have clothes that I cannot let go of that are holey. No worries!

  3. 3 Eduardo December 18, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Dang everything is getting expensive! Thank dog I don’t wear shoes!
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  4. 4 Goodboy Norman Featherstone December 19, 2008 at 8:14 am

    You need a more powerful space heater!

  5. 5 lex December 19, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Been there before! We were actually running out the closest sports store and buying those little heat packs to stick in our shoes. It felt warmer outside at one point.

    I hate when something like that gets ruined, it can’t really be replaced.😦
    Yes I do the hole thing too, my fav sweater has a hole on the sleeve that I need to fix (its right on the seam) but I keep wearing it anyways.

  6. 6 doozy December 19, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I’ve tried to save certain sweaters by using an industrial strength clothing shaver and I’ve managed to actually wreck about 3 sweaters because it was so powerful! Poop!

  7. 7 Nevis December 19, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Being cold at work sucks, but I’d rather be cold than hot. Because you can always buy one of those little mini heaters. But there isn’t much you can do if you’re sitting at your desk sweating. Ugh.

  8. 8 Ultratoast December 21, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Just market the cardigan as ‘peephole’ if anyone asks. I wear socks with holes in them all the time. If I am questioned, I refer to my attire as ‘foot lingerie’


Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

