Lush Reviews and Updates

As I stare in awe that it’s Dec 1 tomorrow, I would like to distract myself with a few reviews of some stuff I’ve recently tried, including an update on the caca hair dye.

caca2

I am bringing my review to a 2/5 because not only did this stuff end up washing out of my hair, but it also dyed a small section of my hair green.  A strip test wouldn’t have helped either, because this hair is shorter than my other layers and I’m not entirely sure what else would make this hair more “accepting” of the green tinge?  Anyway, I can only see it when I immediately dry my hair before styling, so it’s not a big deal, nor is it a big chunk of hair, it’s maybe the width and height of 2 toonies.  I wouldn’t use this again.  I put the other half of the bar in a drawer and the smell bothered me so much I had to put the bag under the sink in the kitchen and I can STILL smell it.  So I’ll be throwing it out. The smell is too ingrained with a bad experience for me to use it again.  It’s too bad that this stuff comes only in an $18 block, because if you only use half, the other half is a waste (if you don’t like it).

The next product is the Gold Frankincense and Beer Shower Jelly that I bought at the same time as the caca.  I paid $6.67 before tax for a jelly brick of this stuff:

beerThis stuff smells delicious.  It’s not quite a beer smell, it’s sort of like pop?  Almost a root beer smell.  Lovely. It’s sort of weird to work with though, as you have to sort of break off a bit and smash it into a loofah to use it.  It’s got the consistency of jello, which is a bit mind-challenging for me when I first wake up.  You have to leave it in a container, otherwise it will just melt with water.  It’s sort of a pain in the ass to grab it, grab a loofah, open the container, break a bit off, put the lid on, put it back, and then smash the jelly into the loofah without dropping anything.  The smell is somehow less potent than I’d expect in the shower, yet it it quite perfect on the skin when you get out.  The smell doesn’t really last all day, but I think you might continually notice it throughout the day if you just try it as a new smell.  I’d say this gets a 3/5 if you’re buying it for yourself, and a 4/5 (for inconvenience, but it’s a wonderful treat) as a gift.

I’m going to to review the Lush solid shampoo a little later (because I lurv it), but I think it deserves a longer post to itself.

Now I am off to lay down and try to work off the last part of my sickness. Bleh!

6 Responses to “Lush Reviews and Updates”


  1. 1 blogfaced December 1, 2008 at 2:16 am

    i really enjoyed the amount of times you used the word ‘loofah’ when talking about the jelly, and it does sound quite challenging for an early morning start. i can’t even seem to make shower gel work that early in the morning.
    but i don’t have a loofah.

  2. 2 Sandra December 1, 2008 at 10:41 am

    What kind of shampoo is it? Is there a conditioner? I must know. I’m in good shampoo limbo and I’m drudging through the last of my Brunette Goddess by TIGI, which, does NOT make me feel like any more of a goddess than I did before.

    I forgot to tell you that I am a stores attendant NO MORE!!!! I’ve just moved up to emerg but the move to the main floor from the basement is much more than symbolic.

  3. 3 Ultratoast December 1, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    You’ll have to elaborate upon what size a toonie is.

  4. 4 Eduardo December 1, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Thank you so much for the reveiw!
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  5. 5 Sandra December 1, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    ultra, it’s about an inch in diameter.

  6. 6 Doozy December 1, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Ultra, you should know what a toonie looks like, didn’t you use any???


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

