Shower Headband Book

Today I awoke to the harsh realization that for maybe the 5th time in a year, there was no hot water. This manages to magically happen overnight each time, and I’d say that 4 out of the 5 times this has happened I’ve been buck naked standing with my hand under the faucet, pleading hot water to come out because I need to be at work soon.

Then I am forced to go to work all greasy and gross and ripe from the day before. Okay, greasy and gross and ripe in MY OPINION. Though I did spray myself very thoroughly with Body Shop Cranberry body spray, which in my mind, can cover the smell of most anything. I literally boiled water so that I could wash my hair, because not washing my hair is something I just can’t deal with.

I also realized that if I don’t have a shower in the morning, it’s mostly my hands that don’t feel clean, which is completely insane because hands are pretty much the easiest thing to wash. I don’t know what it is about the shower, but whatever happens during those, what, 10 minutes? It’s magic.

So I sat at my desk all day, greasing it up and feeling pretty gross. Hopefully the water is back to normal now so that I can go home and have a proper, water-wasting 15 minute shower to wash off the day. I can’t take it! I must shower!

Things would be different if I lived in the woods. You just end up so dirty finally that you maintain a nice stasis of dirtiness and don’t really need to bathe. But I am not in the woods, I am in downtown Vancouver…which I suppose is right near a forest, but lets not make rash decisions.

For whatever reason I also decided to “spice” things up a bit and throw on a headband, which is just another way I like to torture myself. Must every headband on earth dig like a motherfucker into my skull? Apparently the answer is yes. We all know I can’t wear those round headbands because of my slanty skull, but sometimes I like to throw a nice regular headband into the mix. I should have really thought that through though because I wear glasses, which also take up the exact area code that headbands like to live. They’ve been dueling all day for ‘prime skull crushing’ territory, and I’m pretty sure that it’s the glasses that are going to win. Sorry headband, we tried but things aren’t really working out for me. I want to see other people.

In some other sucky, first-world news, I ordered the other Stephenie Meyer books on Sunday night, foolishly thinking they’d arrive within the week. Apparently, amazon.ca has other ideas. Namely the date of December 3rd. I’m hoping this is just a rouse and I will magically have all the books tomorrow, but seeing as how this week is turning into a shitfest, I’m thinking they will probably arrive next week. Sigh. Steve tried to cheer me up when I asked him what else I should read in the meantime (I’ve already devoured the partial draft of Midnight Sun) and he sent me this book jacket:

Which has more wonderful elements than a girl can really ask for. My favorite part is the open fly on the cover. So suggestive!

5 Responses to “Shower Headband Book”


  1. 1 sjconnor November 26, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Some days (weeks? months?) life can just be non-stop screaming hell. And then the cork on a really good bottle of red wine pops, and, well, “goodness” reigns.

  2. 2 lex November 27, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Ok the book… yea.. that’s funny!

    I have been there.. some mornings I would let the water run for about 20 minutes to get it lukewarm so I can shower (in the winter usually). It was awful.
    Isn’t that weird? I am the same way, my hands always feel greasy if I don’t shower, same with my face.
    I have given up on headbands, the cloth ones don’t stay on and the others either pinch my head or knock my glasses around. No happy medium.
    Hope today was better for you.

  3. 3 doozy November 27, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    So far, I think I may be getting sick again. Boo! This week needs to eat a dick! I am trying to fight it though.

  4. 4 Catatonic Kid November 27, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Hi! I’ve been on a blogging break so didn’t realise till just now but wanted to say thanks for adding me to your blogroll.🙂 Really like the design of your blog! I’ll definitely be back for more.

  5. 5 Nevis November 28, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I loooooove the open fly. Hotness!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

