Twilight Movie Review

Making a movie for hoards of anxious tweens and teenage girls will result in one of two reactions, one being something like this:

Or like this:

and I am pretty sure there is no gray area in between.

I shoved my way past mountains of teen girls as the theatre filled up, but I am always the stickler for getting to the theatre an hour before the movie on opening weekend.  And may I just ask WHY do people show up on opening weekend 5 minutes before the movie, and look disappointed when they can’t find say, 5 seats together in the exact centre of the theatre? So goes the minds of the stupid people.

There was a lot of screaming during this movie.  A LOT.  And I’m pretty sure that everyones’ panties flew at the screen when Robert Pattinson finally made his debut.

This face is responsible for the onset of millions of girls' puberties.

Robert Pattinson: Sending millions of tweens into early puberty since...Friday?

Frankly, I am getting distracted just having this photo on my post.

Whether this movie is good or bad, and no matter what anyone says, the fans will continue to show up in hoards. Teen girls rule the earth.  And really, there’s more women then men, so why wouldn’t we show up to see a sexy vampire story?  Let us not forget Interview with the Vampire.

Brad Pitt + not crazy Tom Cruise + Antonio Banderas = the original sexy vampire mix

Brad Pitt + not crazy Tom Cruise + Antonio Banderas = the original sexy vampire mix, no?

With movies made from books, I don’t know if the movie will ever live up to the book, unless it is 6 hours long. And you will never impress everyone because we all likely imagined that it would come to life in a slightly different way. I think that especially rings true for a book that runs on a lot of internal dialog, mystery, and thought. The poor studio that made this movie was falling into debt, and had a paltry $37 million to make the movie, as opposed to a well-funded film like the new Bond film, having a budget of $230 million dollars.  Do you know why Edward wasn’t sparkling as brightly or as beautifully as you thought?  Because that was one of hundreds of moments that needed to be filmed within this small budget.  This is also likely why the baseball scene wasn’t quite “impressive” enough. Think about how many people you have to pay, feed, clothe, and then you can add in the film, the gear, and then you’ve got a very small portion left to add that extra described effect that Meyer added to so many parts of this book.

twilight-movie-11

I give applause to the actors.  I felt like everyone did a great job.  I feel like I lost some of the effect and intensity of the movie because so many girls were squealing with delight, or laughter, maybe not knowing how to react when the mild scene of sexuality happened.

Which brings me to another point. A lot of reviews I’ve read are talking about how this movie is a thinly veiled attempt to speak to young girls about abstinence. I respectfully disagree. This is a movie based on a book that came from a dream that the author had.  From the subconscious of a grown woman. Her ability to capture love, desperation, and the struggle of an undead man and a very much alive woman is clear.  And is there any better way to connect with women than appealing to their most basic, carnal instincts?  I don’t think that we need to read that much into this book.  This book didn’t try to change anyone’s view on sex, it didn’t try to change literature or make a substantial intelligent mark, it is a fictitious book about events that didn’t happen.  Sometimes women just want to read a good love story. It’s an easy read, it’s captivating, sexy, and isn’t trying too hard.  It doesn’t need to.

twilight-movie-9

The good news is that Twilight has, as of tonight, brought in more money on its opening weekend than the new James Bond flick.  $70.5 million, securing the New Moon movie will follow. I am betting that this film will be better, but I doubt that it will please critics.  I think if you didn’t read the book, you probably won’t like the movie.  I also believe that the majority of movie critics are grown men, so it’s no wonder this movie has had poor reviews.

My opinion is that this movie was good.  It wasn’t awe-inspiring- it didn’t have the money to do that.  It satisfied my urge to see these characters come to life. Sure, it was cheesy and awkward in some parts, but teen romance is cheesy and awkward. I think we can all agree with that.

14 Responses to “Twilight Movie Review”


  1. 1 dryhumourwetcoast November 23, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I felt like I was intruding on a slumber party.

  2. 2 Que Sarah November 24, 2008 at 12:13 am

    OMG, the American Idol video was freaking hilarious! Great review of the movie! No matter what, that movie will not please everyone, just like the HP movies. Hopefully the 2nd one will have a bigger budget and have slightly better directives.

  3. 3 Eduardo November 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Thanks for the review! My Mommy agees with you about the actors in “Interveiw with the Vampire” being the orginal sexy mix! And yes a movie will never live up to the book but mommy says, “Interveiw with the Vampire” was damn close!
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  4. 4 lex November 24, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Yes the before tom cruise went crazy vampire mix was damn sexie! ahh.. sigh… I miss that Tom Cruise! lol
    Did the significant other go with you? From his comment above I assume he did? I am trying to convince mine that he NEEDS to take me.. but his love vampires is low, very very low. lol
    It is hard with books since you always imagine it to be something else or sound or look another way. I agree about the old men movie critics.. they know nothing! lol

  5. 5 doozy November 24, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Yeah, Steve wanted to see what it would be like to be in a room full of crazy tweens. And boy did he get to experience it!

  6. 6 Jackie November 24, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Oh lordy, tweens. That American Idol video had me laughing pretty hard!

  7. 7 doozy November 24, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Jackie: I know! My favorite part is when one of them screams, “He can’t even grow facial hair!”

  8. 8 lex November 25, 2008 at 10:56 am

    OK.. so the date is set.. the hubby is taking me this evening to go watch this.. I am hoping the hordes of screaming girls are down to a minimum..you know school night and all.. right?? lol

  9. 9 Sandra November 25, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I was fortunate enough to watch this movie in a theatre not so full of other women in their twenties and some of their boyfriends. Well, two of their boyfriends. Six of the women were sisters (and I quote “Real sisters. Do you mind if I get up and make out with the screen during the movie because my husband said it’s ok?” to which I said “you’d have to get by me first.”

    I found the movie satisfying. I would have preferred though, given their limited budget, that they spend a little more time developing the love story, because I kind of felt like it was kind of thrown together sloppily. However, I understand that in the book this is pretty much all developed via thoughts.

    One of my pet peeves will always be when there are scenes in the trailers that don’t end up in the film. WTF? I HATE that. Even if I can go without the scene, it’s just stupid.

    I will give my props to a point in the movie that didn’t happen in the book: I laughed when he was jumping on her truck, almost giddy (I mean he was. Well, I was too. I tried not to be too obvious, Jess said it didn’t work.) As far as the Robert Pattinson’s facial hair goes, the little bits of five o’clock shadow that you could see starting to poke through are a part of his sexiness. His man-ness.

    Oh by the way? After the movie, the married woman had her head in her hands and kept saying “I’m a pedophile, I’m a pedophile….”. I told her we all were.

    Oh, Lauren check your phone, i sent you like four texts because Pozzo the Bozo was standing in line behind us when we were getting candy.

  10. 10 Michelle November 26, 2008 at 7:44 am

    I also went to the movie on opening night and thought it was pretty good, well as good as movies based on books ever are.

    I think the abstinence thing is funny. Do they really think encouraging teens to get married just so it is “ok” to have sex is a better solution than premarital sex.

  11. 11 coffee January 17, 2009 at 11:25 am

    seems likely that they will come out with a Twilight sequel pretty soon, there’s a crazy lot of ticket sales at stake

  12. 12 mrs. cullen February 12, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    w3ll i r3ally 3njoy3d th3 movi3 and i want 2 s33 it again h3 rob3rt was at the mall around h3r3 and i w3nt 2 m33t him it was aw3som3

    • 13 shortie December 4, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      did you really see him what country is this i really love him you can be mrs cullen i’m mrs robert pattison ok chat back please i’m curious

  13. 14 kashfia mithila June 6, 2010 at 7:58 am

    it was an exciting movie!!! i loved it alot!!! edward cullen was the cutiest of all!!!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

