Elevator Etiquette

I used to hate taking elevators. I think I was scared they were going to come crashing to the ground, or I’d get stuck in one?
Basically, working at a hospital will cure you of all elevator fear, as you take them 50 times a shift to get to the various units. And taking the elevator with a corpse? Forget about it! Childsplay!
Luckily I got over the elevator fear before moving into an apartment as well, as climbing many, MANY stairs is out of the question. I’ve climbed much less at work to get to my office and have greatly regretted it!
I find that in public spaces (say maybe, in a building lobby) there is a certain etiquette that comes with waiting and boarding an elevator.
When you arrive in front of the elevator, either the button has been pushed, or you have to push it. If it’s been pushed, you had better let the person that pushed the button get on the elevator first, or you’ll get the stank eye. If you push it, congrats! You get on first. Anyone who breaks this rule seems to be the subject of a great number of grunts and dirty looks.
And you’d better pay attention to who arrived in front of the elevator in what order! If you step ahead of anyone else, you’d better get a bullet proof vest. Looks CAN kill.
Or maybe it’s just me that gets really pissed when someone busts in front of me to get into the elevator.
That, and when I am getting out of an elevator, but some over-anxious fool barges into the elevator before I can even get OFF the elevator.
Why is human contact so difficult?!

9 Responses to “Elevator Etiquette”


  1. 1 dryhumourwetcoast November 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

    When there is only one other person in the elevator with me, I try to stand as close as I can to them and quietly flex all of my muscles as hard as I can.

  2. 2 Goodboy Norman Featherstone November 13, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Wow. Who knew? I guess I don’t ride many elevators!!

  3. 3 Nevis November 13, 2008 at 8:03 am

    I know exactly what you mean. I used to work in a 75 story building in Los Angeles and rode the elevators all day long. There are a lot of unconscious rules to it! And trust me, I’ve actually pushed people who barged into the elevator without letting me get off first. The rudeness!

  4. 4 lex November 13, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I deal with that everyday at work and the skytrain!! My mother taught me to let people off before I got on, didn’t anybody else learn that lesson?? lol

  5. 5 doozy November 13, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Lex: Transit here is very strange. I’ve seen lineups to get on busses, very nice single file lines, and that NEVER happens in Calgary. It’s basically everyone for themselves. I’ve heard from a co-worker that everyone lines up very neatly on the seabus, and then there are asshats that kind of try and sneak to the front without getting in line. Apparently that is quite the rage-inducing faux pas.
    Canadians are still pretty polite about this kind of thing though.
    This reminds me of something I really hate: when people touch me in a lineup. ESPECIALLY when there’s no one behind THEM. Why are you touching me?! I mean, I likely smell pretty good, but come on!

  6. 6 Eduardo November 13, 2008 at 11:17 am

    SOOOOO glad I’m a dog & only have to deal with my wacky mom & dad! Your humans are so crazy! But I love to read your stories so I don’t mind!
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  7. 7 lex November 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Yes! the bus lines are nice if you have to go through the front doors, but if you can go through any door (99 and 98b line) it is a free for all.
    But the skytrain.. ugh and people push you hard at 730am to get on that train! It’s full!!

    I hate that too, i usually hang back when people are breathing down my neck in the grocery line up – you know just to make them inch up more and then i glare at them. Yay me and my passive agressiveness! lol

  8. 8 doozy November 13, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Lex: the grocery store is the WORST for that! I usually just step ahead a little (if there’s room) but then you kind of have to use your purse as a shield.

    I was at Pacific Centre at the Autoplan place standing well away from anyone walking and these three people walked by and one of them hit my purse right off my shoulder. I wouldn’t know what to say really, I didn’t say anything, and really, is it worth it to be like, “DON’T FUCKING TOUCH ME!!!” I doubt it. Now if someone grabbed me or like REALLY smacked into me, or was like, basically ON me, that would be another story.

  9. 9 lex November 13, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I have invisible days where I swear to god I must be invisible because why else would so many people hit me?
    That and the sidewalk drives me nuts, do you and your 4 friends need to walk all the way across the sidewalk? Ugh.. i usually plow into people at the point!
    Some people are rude and ignorant and it sucks!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

