Needle and Thread

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about sewing, and that I ought to get back in the habit.  but first!  I must get a sewing machine!  Or, a new one that is.  I took sewing classes from grade 7-12, so I did it for 6 years, but after high school, there weren’t any random sewing classes in college, so I just stopped.  

Well, I stopped sewing with the guide of a teacher.  I think I may have done some lame alterations on my own.  And that was with a suuuuuper old sewing machine that belonged to my grandma.  It was so old it didn’t have a foot pedal, it had a sort of outer thigh bar that you had to press with your leg. Hers was the only sewing machine I’ve ever seen like it.  It wasn’t a bad machine, but it was VERY, VERY heavy.  So no thanks.  I think I left it in Calgary?  Or my mom has it? Or maybe it got up and walked away?

I thought it might be fun to make some skirts and shirts, but I haven’t sewn in so long that I don’t know if I should really invest in it?  I mean, it’s probably good to have a sewing machine.  And I can make one kick ass pillow, let me tell you!  Squares ahoy!  And I can do one mean invisible stitch by hand.  

I guess I’m just sort of “meh” to all the clothing I’ve seen lately, and to the ridiculous prices for simple garments.  I’m all like, “I could do that, pfft! Get me a sewing machine and fabric and let’s do this!”

It doesn’t help that there’s basically NO ROOM in our apartment though, and I doubt the dogs would take kindly to the sound of a sewing machine without trying to attack it.  

What’s a girl to do?!

4 Responses to “Needle and Thread”


  1. 1 Gem November 8, 2008 at 3:20 am

    I really want a sewing machine too, but damn are they expensive! I’ve been watching some second-hand ones on Ebay, but even they usually jump up to over $100 by the end of the auction. LAME.

  2. 2 ultratoast November 8, 2008 at 5:32 am

    I would suggest that you set it up out on the balcony. You might need some gloves in winter, but in summer it would be spiffy!

  3. 3 dryhumourwetcoast November 8, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    If we throw out all of our shoes, coats, and dehumidifier that we don’t use, we could set up a sewing room in the den!

  4. 4 HaxAvaivadalf January 3, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.
    legtwypsnkuwqwcoyfjmigunjfxxpxkdomwhello


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

