OBAMA WINS!!!!


Thank the dear sweet Lord, Obama has become the first African-American president!

I feel really lucky to have been able to see Barack Obama become the new President of the United States. I teared up, AND I AM NOT IN THE STATES! I jumped up and down, I cried, and I cheered. I’ve never seen the people of the US so excited to be alive, and so quickly to be proud again to be American. This is a new dawn for not just the US, but for the world. Tonight, I felt the world breathe a sigh of relief.

YES WE CAN.

12 Responses to “OBAMA WINS!!!!”


  1. 1 Amanda November 5, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Beautifully put! We are super excited too!!

  2. 3 Nevis November 5, 2008 at 9:33 am

    It was very exciting last night. It feels like…a very historic moment…like years from now we’ll remember this night. You know?

  3. 4 JasonSTL November 5, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Yes we did!!!!

    For the first time since 9-11, I feel like I can finally unwind and shake it all off. Intelligent leadership sure will be refreshing.

    Hey world, we are back!

  4. 5 lex November 5, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I hear you!! It was like a wind storm was released, that’s how powerful that sigh of relief was!

    I feel so overwhelmed and overjoyed to have been able to witness the first african american president,

    I can’t believe the landslide he won by!

  5. 6 Michelle November 5, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    My thoughts exactly. We are so excited down here!

  6. 7 Sandra November 5, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    I cried like the little girl that I am…which roughly translates to I got all goose-bumpy while he was talking and super misty.

    Think of this Lmac: Your niece, my nephews and niece, could very well make it into their politically aware age (circa junior high) not knowing a time where there WASN’T an African-American president.

    My absolute favourite part about the whole thing is that I honestly felt that he wasn’t elected because he was black. I felt that he was elected because he is charismatic, intelligent, and will surround himself with the right people to bring about necessary change not only for the U.S. but for the rest of the world (ie. countries that do 75% of their trade with the U.S.)…he was the better candidate. The fact that he is black was like a sidenote. Like “oh by the way, this is history-making.” Tres cool.

  7. 8 lex November 5, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I totally agree with your last paragraph Sandra.

  8. 9 doozy November 5, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Exactly. This was the most honest campaign I’ve ever seen run by someone EVER. Even the Democrats were classy enough to cheer when Obama mentioned McCain, whereas the McCain crowd totally booed. I thought McCain spoke well too, and he was classy enough to hush the crowd when they booed Obama.

  9. 10 Sandra November 5, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I actually like John McCain, even though I was disgusted by his totally patronizing and ridiculously poorly-thought out choice for running mate. I remember thinking “Way to pick a woman to show how forward thinking you are. The fact that Obama’s black is not why he’s popular!”. I mean obviously I disagree with some of ( see: a lot of) McCain’s politics but the man himself is honest as well.

    I just look forward to seeing who Obama is going to surround himself with.

  10. 11 dryhumourwetcoast November 5, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Let’s not romanticize John McCain now that he’s done the only classy thing in his campaign by giving a pretty concession speach.
    John McCain is a lying cheating bastard.
    He spread lies about Obama.
    He was one of the Keating Five
    He started seeing his current wife while still married to his previous.
    The most impressive thing he ever did with he life was NOT dying after being shot down while trying to bomb the crap out of innocent people.
    He jokes about bombing Iran.
    He’s boarder line senile.
    He didn’t even know how many houses he owns.

    John McCain is a bad man.
    http://www.realchange.org/mccain.htm

  11. 12 Deidre November 5, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    I am so happy Obama won!

    It just gives me chills! Ha ha! I’m tearing up again!
    I hope people can get past the racial and religion thing. One girl in my class was upset and said, “Well, he’s white and muslim!”
    People are so ignorant…

    Hopefully people will change because as a species, we need it.

    He stopped by the park next door to my apartment earlier this year. Check it out!
    http://news.webshots.com/album/563599315wpIAUo?vhost=news


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

