Coffee and Cooking

After working for Starbucks for 3 years, and now having not worked for them for about 3 years, I can still say that I am addicted to caffeine. I get a headache each day if I don’t have some sort of coffee-based item in the morning.  Oh my poor brain.  I’ve had a few moments of, “why do I feel like shit today?  I am so TIRED.  Wait wait, I haven’t had any coffee!” and then all is well again. 

Oddly enough, when you do one of those herbal cleanses, they don’t make you go off caffeine. You’d think they would want you to clear out your caffeine as well, but maybe it’s the caffeine that keeps you from going nuts.  I can vouch for that, having done a cleanse while working at Starbucks.
I’ve probably just got Starbucks on the brain because I am looking at my white mocha.  My delicious, 500 calorie white mocha.  I’m pretty sure that’s a third of what I’m supposed to intake calorie-wise on a daily basis?  But basically I am having it as a breakfast substitute, so whatever.  Breakfast it is!
On another note, has anyone bought anything that they have immediately lost?  I bought some thigh high tights from H&M and I cannot find them for the life of me.  And I bought them THREE WEEKS AGO.  They are still in the sock packaging.  I bought them so that when I wear a dress to work this Fall and Winter, my legs don’t FALL OFF from the cold.  Such is the way of the building I work in.  Heating?  Pfft.  That’s for suckers.  I don’t know where the heat even comes from in this building?  Wait wait, there’s a radiator on the exact OPPOSITE side of the room, which would explain why no one over there is cold.  Alas, I am by myself on the other side of the room, administrating my way through the day.
And just to randomly change topic again, I hope everyone  had a delightful Thanksgiving in Canada, and I hope you had a nice Columbus Day in the States!  I’d like to take a moment and brag that I cooked my first piece of meat.  EVER.  A turkey leg.  It was probably one of the worst things I’ve ever had to do, since I don’t eat meat.  But I cooked the hell out of that leg, and apparently it was delicious.  I looked up about 4 references on cooking a turkey leg, and so I was pretty sure I had it down.  Steve is still alive, so that’s a good sign that it was cooked!  Yesterday Steve asked our neighbor, Anthony about cooking meat, just to make sure.  He said it was all good.  Oh yeah, I should explain who Anthony is.  He’s this guy:

And he hosts this show:

on the Food Network!  What a good neighbor to have when you are cooking things that you are clearly not qualified to cook!  And frankly, he and his girlfriend are the best looking neighbors that anyone could have.  
Anyway, I managed to pull off a little Thanksgiving meal for Steve and I, and I also bought little doggie peanut butter cups from  this place:
I gave them to the dogs when we had pumpkin pie.  I bought two for each dog, and put them on little plates for them to enjoy.  Winston was a bastard though and managed to steal one of Zelda’s while she was trying to wolf down the first one, so he got 3 instead of 2.  What a dick!  I even tried to pry the cup out of his mouth, but he held strong and just ran away like he was covered in butter!  His punishment came later when he spent a half hour trying to throw up.  He didn’t, but he was heaving for a good amount of time.  Nothing says Thanksgiving like having to hold an old towel under your dog while he heaves!

7 Responses to “Coffee and Cooking”


  1. 1 Gem October 14, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    lol at winston stealing zelda’s peanut butter cup… one of my mum’s dogs is exactly like that. she inhales her own food then immeadiately goes and tries to steal the other dog’s food, and the cat’s food as well.

    oh, and she’s fat. big surprise.

  2. 2 doozy October 14, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Hahaha, I love it. Winston used to eat our cat’s food. The cat was not pleased. Then he’d eat her poop and that was just awful!

  3. 3 Goodboy Norman Featherstone October 15, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Way to go Winston! Zelda needs to watch her figure anyway – LOL! I’m glad you didn’t kill Steve with raw meat.

  4. 4 Nevis October 15, 2008 at 9:15 am

    That’s definatly cool that you live next to a Food Network star…although I’ve never heard of him, and I’m a HUGE Food Network fan. Is he only on in Canada?

    The pumpkin pie treats for the doggies sound delightful!

  5. 5 lex October 15, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Oh wow what a hottie! Never heard of him though so next time I spend all weekend with food network on I will keep on eye out for him!🙂
    I can cook turkey too.. i just never know when it is done and let me tell you.. handling raw wet somewhat stinky turkey.. could possibly turn me vegetarian! lol
    The gravy you had, was it turkey gravy?
    What a bum! Gus tries to do stuff like that and Indy goes completely pyscho… it is hard to believe my baby girl sounds like snarling tiger!!
    I lose things constantly.. like my halloween decorations.. i packed them in april to move and in may i repacked them to store.. and yea can’t find them!
    I need to dig out my scarf too.. its been cold!!

  6. 6 doozy October 15, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Yeah exactly, I was like, “he’s on the Food Network???” when I found out. Turns out that he won Superstar Chef Challenge in Canada in 2007. Apparently his show is on 5 days a week. If you look it up on the Food Network website, it says he’s on at 7pm Eastern I think? I’ve never seen the show, but apparently he gets recognized a lot, so he has to grow a beard so that people don’t notice him.

  7. 7 Christine October 15, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    LOL! Non-meat-eaters cooking meat and heaving dogs, the holiday season has arrived!

    Mea has learned to defend her food and treats by skipping the whole chewing process.

    BTW we’re coming to visit soon! I’ll email our details🙂


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

