The Highs and Lows of High Heels

You know the women.  The ladies that wear 4″ heels and are actually WALKING home from work.  I’m basically thinking these ladies are robots, because no one I know is able to do this without excruciating amounts of pain.  

Maybe they’re just doing it because it’s a bit of a pain in the arse to lug around some flats, and sure, legs look better in a heel.  But for me?  Heels are sort of a special thing either only worn at work, or on a very short trip somewhere (preferably when a cab is involved).
I may just be the odd one out because I have a bunion on my tootsie, but I really can’t walk very far in a heel.  I also see photos all the time on Wardrobe Remix of chicks just walking around in heels. 
Maybe I just need new feet, eh?  Like, feet transplants.  Some nice, thin feet.  
You know what else burns my grill?  How heels are so very clearly NOT set up for arch support.  Would it really hurt the shoe companies to just chuck a little padded arch support?  Or maybe that wouldn’t help in a 4″ high heel?  Would it?  I’d like to think it would, and then I could prance around in heels all day long.
Sometimes I see girls walking in heels and they just look so ridiculously out of place and uncoordinated that it makes me wonder what I look like!  Am I walking around pointing my toes really far in when I walk?  Or am I pointing my feet outward like a duck?  I’ve tried to catch a glimpse of myself walking in the reflection of bus shelter ads, so I think I’m doing okay.  I haven’t rolled an ankle yet either, which is good news!
So I checked Wikipedia, and apparently high heels were first popular among men.  Wouldn’t all the men of the world like to know this.  Go tell your husbands, boyfriends, and then make them walk a block in a pair of heels and see how they USED to live!
The wikipedia entry also had a list:

Reasons for not wearing high-heels include:

  • they can cause foot pain
  • they can create foot deformities, including hammertoes and bunions
  • they can cause an unsteady gait
  • they can shorten the wearer’s stride
  • they can render the wearer unable to run
  • altered forces at the knee caused by walking in high-heels may predispose to degenerative changes in the knee joint
  • Women who wear high heels frequently have a higher incidence of degenerative joint disease of the knees. This is because they cause a decrease in the normal rotation of the foot which puts more rotation stress on the knee
  • Podiatrists often comment that 75 percent of their business is caused by females wearing tall high heeled shoes.
  • But oh yes, there is also a positive list:
  • Reasons for wearing high-heels, which are almost exclusively aesthetic, include:
  • they change the angle of the foot with respect to the lower leg, which accentuates the appearance of calves
  • they change the wearer’s posture, requiring a more upright carriage and altering the gait in what is considered a seductive fashion
  • they make the wearer appear taller
  • they make the legs appear longer
  • they make the foot appear smaller
  • they make the gluteal muscles more defined while wearing tight pants
  • they make the wearer look flexibly strong

 

Is it just me, or does the list of reasons for wearing heels make you want to go put on some heels?

10 Responses to “The Highs and Lows of High Heels”


  1. 1 Gem October 2, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    i pretty much only wear heels at, like, weddings or funerals. seriously.

    actually, they probably aren’t that suitable for funerals. might have to rethink that one.

  2. 2 Trudy October 2, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    My feet are fussy. There are days I can wear heels for hours and other days I can only wear them for minutes. Also, I had a bunionectomy ~7 years ago because of the pain I was having wearing shoes (the surgery was covered by insurance) and it was a great relief.

  3. 3 Doozy October 2, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Oh how I would love to have the surgery. I don’t know if it’s fully covered in BC though. I think it is if you get a referral? I wonder who you’d even talk to about that???

  4. 4 lex October 3, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Ask your family dr, they would know.. or maybe go to a walkin clinic…
    I love heels, they make me feel sexie.. I have a beautiful pair of 4′ stiletto boots that I rarely wear because it kills the balls of my feet and my lower back.
    Do you mean the girls that march when they walk? Or drag their feet? I hate that, how can you drag your feet while wearing huge heels. I see it at metrotown constantly.. :p
    I love kitten heels, they are comfortable and high enough to make your legs look longer but still like wearing flats!

  5. 5 doozy October 3, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Oh if only I had a family Dr. out here. The doc I go to is at a walk-in clinic and I don’t like her. She’s maybe 5 years older than me and looks like she should be in sports med and could really give a crap about me. Boo!

    Dragging your feet in heels is the WOOOORST! It makes an awful noise. You’re right, kitten heels are good! I just bought a pair of ankle boots that have 4″ heels, and for whatever reason, they are more comfy than a few pairs of my shorter heels!

  6. 6 Nevis October 3, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    It does make me want to put some heels on, but I totally rarely do. I buy them and rarely wear them. They’re painful! I’d rather be in flip flops or barefoot. And in the winter? Uggs.

  7. 7 Goodboy Norman Featherstone October 3, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I walk like such a dork in heels. It’s sad really, because I have chunky little calves, and heels could really help give the illusion of thinness. Oh well. The most amusing place I have seen hoochie mamas struttin’ their stuff in REALLY tall heels – the fair. That’s right. The fair. It’s the social event of the season for some, and they wouldn’t be caught dead in sneakers.

  8. 8 doozy October 3, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Gem: I’ve worn heels to a funeral, I think they’re totally appropriate for a funeral.

    Tammy: you don’t look like you have chunky calves!
    You are so right about the fair. I’ve never seen so many terribly skank heels as I did at the Stampede every year in Calgary.

  9. 9 Deidre October 5, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I don’t know how to walk in heels. Ugh! Every time I wear them, Ray laughs at me. Now I have to something to say back! Ha ha! I usually give up after ten or so steps and take them off and go bare-footed.

  10. 10 Neil December 29, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Ever since I was a young lad, I always found females who wear high heels to be really sexy & they always caught my eye. It doesn’t make a difference how old the ladies are!!! High heels make females super sexy & feminine!!!


Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

