Feet and Shoes

 

I’ve got fat feet.  The rest of me isn’t wide by any means, but my poor feet are pretty darn fat.  That, or my bones are totally messed up.  I have feet that are, by shoe standards, ridiculously wide for a lady.  Which sort of makes me feel like I have man feet!  Though they don’t look like man feet.  Just sayin’.

Then I have these high arches that don’t translate well to heels that are made of stiff leather.  My arch is actually so high that i have to usually buy one size up so that I can jam my freaky feet into a boot.  And yes, the boot is unzipped.  And yes, I have tried a shoehorn.  My crazy-ass feet are so arched that all the pressure in a heel goes to my big toes.

Then there’s my poor bunion on my left foot.  My mom had a bunion and had to have surgery!  And then there’s me and my foot.  In college I had this pair of black flat boots that I am pretty sure are the cause of my poor bunion.  Strange how a pair of flats managed to kill my feet.  Sigh.

Then I had a pair of flats in college that I wore during my time in Banff, and they messed up my poor pinkie toe on my right foot!  All because my feet are seriously too wide for ridiculously thin women’s shoes.  Aw.

I don’t know anyone who has actually complained about women’s shoes before who had somewhat normal feet, you know?  It’s all these people who are either extremely overweight, or other people who are basically missing a toe or something.

Does anyone else have problems with women’s shoes?  Some of them are so thin in width I don’t know if anyone could get their foot in the shoe without cutting off their pinky, and the associated bones just to get the shoe ON!

For instance, I am currently wearing a pair of flat Oxford shoes, and I can feel my poor feet throbbing at the knuckles ever so slightly because my feet are wider than these shoes, thus making all my toe bones jam together.

Actually, I  ought to just get rid of those pesky pinky toes.  What have they done for me lately?  I’ll tell you what: NOTHING.  Though they are so darn cute!  Maybe I’ll just get rid of a middle toe– no one cares about the middle toes!

8 Responses to “Feet and Shoes”


  1. 1 lex September 4, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I am a freak.. I am 5’8 with a size 9.5-10 shoe. I am not exceptionally thin either. Plus I have narrow feet, lol so I have to make sure the shoes aren’t too wide.
    You know how some people can wear runners that aren’t tied up? I can’t. They have to be tied nice and tight or else they fall off and when they are tight they bunch around laces!😦

  2. 2 Christine September 4, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Can’t say I have any major shoe woes. I do own a few pairs that are evil on my feet but it’s not an ongoing problem.

    I am flat-footed though and when I run, my ankles twist very easily, hence the orthotics in my running shoes.

  3. 3 Michelle September 5, 2008 at 6:00 am

    I can relate, although I only have one fat foot where I sprained it several years ago and it never went down. It really sucks.

    I also agree about the exceptionally narrow shoes that I can’t even begin to wedge my non-fat foot into. Who wears these?

  4. 4 doozy September 5, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Aww, my and my fat feet. Haha. I will be forced to wear Uggs all my life.

  5. 5 Nevis September 5, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Hey sweetcheeks. I totally had your ‘exploding ass’ and ‘projectile vomiting’ flu. It was not fun and I had to use three sick days. That is the worst I’ve felt in years.

    Oh, and I use to wear hot shoes and was in pain all day. Then I realized…WHY? So now I only wear really comfortable flat shoes that are moderately stylish. Like Aerosoles.

  6. 6 Michele September 5, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I have freakishly wide-flat feet. I hate it. I so want to be a shoe girl, but it never ever works.

    michele

  7. 7 Goodboy Norman Featherstone September 10, 2008 at 6:20 am

    That sucks. At least you can probably find good discounts on sale shoes though. I’m the most popular size – 7 1/2, and those 7 1/2’s sell out fast when shoes go on sale!

  8. 8 myprettyfeet April 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Fat or not, why not love them for being a part of you? And it is unfair to say that your toes have not done anything for you lately: Toes are the key to balance! Love your feet my friend, as your feet are the ones carrying you around in this world.

    If you try hard to start liking your feet: buying them soft comfortable shoes, making them pretty from time to time with pedicure and/or nailpolish, and perhaps giving them gentle foot massage as a treat once in a while, I am sure that over time your feet will become happier, and so will you.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

