You’re doing it wrong!

I was thinking about the age-old question I asked maybe a month or so ago of whether you bunch or fold your tp.  Then someone brought it up at work and I started to think that an even better question is whether you put the tp roll on so that the sheet comes OVER the top, or UNDER the bottom.
These are absolutely the most simple things that cause insane amounts of chaos when people disagree, especially if they live together.
I just assumed my whole life that the roll went over.  Whenever someone put it on the other way, I assumed that they did it wrong, so I would correct it and put it on so it was back to being over.
Then I met someone who was bent on putting the roll UNDER.  It was like talking to someone from bizzaro-land, where everything is backwards.
I’m trying to understand the physics behind why putting the roll on under would be better to putting it on over?
When the roll is over I feel like I have more control over the sheets I get.  If it’s under, I feel like I’ve got to manhandle the roll to get the right amount of paper off.
This is one of those situations similar to not putting the cap on toothpaste, or, for that matter, putting the cap on and *gasp* not wiping the extra toothpaste off the cap!

I am not a wiper-of-toothpaste, but I will say that I can see where the wipers are coming from, because you’re saving yourself the issue later of having to try and wipe the cap off with a piece of tp, only to remember that toothpaste pretty much GLUES itself to tp and then you’ve got a toothpaste AND tp problem happening.  I don’t know a good way to even deal with that.  Automatically I grab tp or a tissue to wipe the tube, and ALWAYS I end up with a ripped piece of tp stuck to the opening.  I never think to just finger the crap off the side, because for whatever reason I don’t want to actually touch the toothpaste with my hand.
As if the worst thing in the bathroom is toothpaste.  I think NOT!  Plenty of other poopy-related things happen in the bathroom that are much worse than toothpaste goo.

8 Responses to “You’re doing it wrong!”


  1. 1 Lorkeet September 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    tee-hee you said “finger the crap.”

    Oh, and the proper way to install TP is under. Over the top is just too aggressive. I don’t like my TP to be aggressive.

  2. 2 Christine September 3, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    The TP HAS to go OVER! It looks nicer🙂

    (And no ripping it off and leaving jaggedy edges!)

    I must say that I’ve never even had an issue with toothpaste goo on the cap. I need to examine that now.

  3. 3 Trudy September 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Toilet paper must go over; it’s the rule. Also, by bunching the toilet paper I feel I get more use for less, no?

  4. 4 lex September 4, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Haha.. my hubby is ALL about TP going over, I could care less and he usually corrects it when he sees it. *shrug*
    I roll the tp up loosely to use it and sometimes bunch it up too.
    I hear you on the toothpaste crap, for some reason I don’t like wiping off the crusty toothpaste either. ALso I like to squeeze my toothpaste tube from the middle whereas the hubby pushes it up from the bottom… yet another quirk..🙂

  5. 5 Michelle September 4, 2008 at 9:15 am

    This is too funny. The TP must go over and I also can’t stand the toothpaste crap. The worst is when it causes there to be toothpaste stickiness in the drawer! Ugh.

  6. 6 doozy September 4, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I didn’t even think about the squeezing, Lex, but I do that too! I squeeze from the middle until I can’t get anymore and then I move to the bottom! We now get this fancy Aquafresh for sensitive teeth, so it has an ENORMOUS cap that doesn’t seem to get gooey. Which is delightful. I get a lot of toothpaste residue from having one of those crest or colgate electric toothbrushes though. It looks so gross!

    Indeed, I am a buncher when it comes to tp, but I think there’s a nice way that you can bunch AND fold, that way you get the traction of the bunching, and then you fold it and you save on paper! Haha, there I go thinking about awesome things to help the environment. I am such a helper.

  7. 7 lex September 4, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I have the aquafresh too.. I love it!🙂
    I squeeze it the same way too.

  8. 8 Goodboy Norman Featherstone September 10, 2008 at 6:21 am

    I certainly position the roll in an “over” fashion too. I can’t imagine the benefits of “under”.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

