There’s nothing I can do

Tonight is one of the few times I’ve wanted to punch out a complete stranger.

After maybe 10 minutes of training with the dogs in the lobby of the building, I take them out into the park in front of my apartment building, which is basically just a cement area. Good training ground, no?

And they were doing SO good. Listening to commands. Sitting. Turning when I turned.

And then the shit hit the fan.

While I am working with the dogs, this woman comes by with her fluff dog (I have no idea what kind of dog it was). I think, okay, she’ll pass by, as my dogs are sitting really nicely. But no. She stops. And my dogs turn and see this dog. And smell the dog, and then Zelda starts barking. At this point I say, “okay, this is nice, but I am training my dogs and you need to move along and get out of here because my dog has been attacked and I am working with her.” To which this lady kind of giggles and stands there with her dog.

Then Zelda starts screaming.

“SERIOUSLY, YOU NEED TO GET OUT OF HERE.”

She doesn’t move.

I say the same thing about 10 times. She doesn’t move.

At this point Zelda is FLIPPING OUT, Winston is trying to get to this other dog and slips out of his harness.

“GET OUT OF HERE! SERIOUSLY! YOU ARE SCARING MY DOGS. THEY DON’T LIKE OTHER DOGS!”

I am basically saying anything to get her to go away. She doesn’t go. SHE KEEPS STANDING THERE AND LAUGHS A LITTLE LAUGH WHILE WINSTON CHASES HER DOG AND ZELDA SCREAMS.

I manage to corall Winston and sit on him (gently, don’t worry) and I am aaaaalmost screaming at this woman, “GET OUT OF HERE!” while waving my hands in an away motion. Now you might think, why didn’t *I* get out of there? Well because my dogs are flipping out and one of them is out of his harness and I can’t move because I am sitting on my dog, and it basically took 10 seconds for Zelda to go from calm to apeshit scared.

I can’t believe that just happened. I wanted to just shove this woman over. She clearly didn’t speak English AT ALL, so the whole time I am motioning “AWAY!!! AWAY!!!!!!!!!” and she DOESN’T GET IT.

FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK. Not only is it embarassing, it’s EXTREMELY stressful for the dogs, and I couldn’t help them because this woman WOULD NOT LEAVE ME ALONE.

I want to scream, myself now! I’m just thinking, WHAT ELSE COULD I HAVE DONE?! I don’t think I could have done anything else and not ended up shoving this woman away from me. And what’s worse is that if it were someone who understood english, it would have been fine, but somehow the one person walking there dog by me happens to not speak a WORD.

I need to go punch my bed.

9 Responses to “There’s nothing I can do”


  1. 1 Amanda August 19, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    OH man! That’s so crappy that she wasn’t getting your vibe, you would have thought she could take the hint at least. I can’t believe it – did she think Winston and Zelda were playing.

    Punch that bed hard!

  2. 2 doozy August 19, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I KNOW, RIGHT?! I was like, HOW DO YOU NOT GET ME?!?!?! Beside the fact that she didn’t speak english, trust me, I was VERY CLEAR in body language! Oh man I just want to throw up over that whole situation.

  3. 3 sjconnor August 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Well, think of this. I was at Cambie and 41st today – construction hell, right? One lane in each direction, east/west, on 41st. An ambulance is screaming along 41st, going west. It comes to the intersection and, of course, people in cars (i.e. “morons”) are loath to get out of the way. The ambulance picks its way around the nitwits and hits the actual intersection just as the light turns green for north/south. What do you think happens? People start walking across the street! In front of the ambulance!

  4. 4 doozy August 19, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    HAHAHA, okay, I think my opinion of the general public in Vancouver is a bit shaken…oh brother!

  5. 5 Sandra August 19, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    What a she-douche! Was she wearing a beret? I may have met her….

  6. 6 doozy August 19, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    No, it was a Chinese lady, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Chinese woman in a beret?

  7. 7 Nevis August 20, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Man, that’s crazy. Seriously. Even if you don’t speak english….couldn’t she like…pick up on your body language? DUH!? I probally would’ve tossed something at her. Or kicked her.

  8. 8 lex August 20, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I see that ambulance situation all the time here on cambie and broadway.. takes them 10 minutes to go through an intersection.

    That stupid woman.. I have had that problem so many times, or where their dog is stepping (and its over 100lbs) on Indy. And they don’t get it. Should I send you my vet bills.

    Did you swear at her? Sometimes that’s the only words the get.

  9. 9 doozy August 20, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Man, some dog owners are such IDIOTS. Seriously. Like if that fucking lab didn’t attack Zelda last year she would be TOTALLY FINE, but now I am going to have to work with her and Winston every day for months and months to correct what that dog did in 10 seconds.
    And morons like that woman don’t help either.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

