Put some butter on me and watch me fry!

I am pretty sure I am a vampire.

It’s maybe 20 degrees right now and I want to die.  I think it’s likely the anticipation that it’s going to burn up to like 34 degrees today, and I just can’t deal with that.  When it’s that hot I don’t even know what to do with myself. I want to die pretty much all day long.  I can’t go out in the sun because I am so terribly pale, if I do I will burn up.  Or get sun stroke.  Or just melt into a pile of clothing and shoes.

My head is pounding already with the terrible anticipation of how extremely hot it gets in the building I work in when it is remotely nice out.  I work inside of a “heritage building”, which in plain terms means, “don’t you dare hang any kind of A/C unit out the window and make this building look at all modern!!!”  And so, we have about 8 fans going, which, as Steve so eloquently put it, makes it more like a convection oven, and less like a wonderful tropical paradise.

Watching your dogs overheat is also pretty shitty.  They’re just pacing and panting and you’re letting them lick ice cubes and sitting them in front of a fan, but they are still hot.  WHERE IS MY COLD, RAINY WEATHER, VANCOUVER?!

In anticipation of the extremely hot temperatures this weekend, I plan on sitting in the ocean all weekend.  I don’t care if I am sitting on a large amount of gravel or rocks or anything.  I will sit on someone’s sprinkler if I have to, and not just because it feels good!

I’m wondering if I should maybe shell out the cash for one of those cooling mats for dogs? I think you put them in the freezer and then roll it out for the dog and then the dog is all like, “HELLS YES.” and lays on it and is all cool.  I’m just wondering how many more days will be so terribly hot that the dogs will be uncomfortable?  It’s supposed to get down to 17 by monday, so maybe I should just wait?

Maybe I should just sit in the tub with the pugs all weekend.  Island bathroom party, woo!

But wait, look at this fantastic, dare I say, GORGEOUS product I’ve found on the internet:

 

I’m buying one of those bandanas for everyone I know.

What do you do to stay cool in the heat?

9 Responses to “Put some butter on me and watch me fry!”


  1. 1 lepug August 15, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Tag you are it! Come by our blog at http://www.lepug.com to see the details.

    Pug Licks & Kisses!

    Porky & Brownie

  2. 2 Nevis August 15, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I know, I’m horrible but I don’t get hot. Rarely, if ever. I love 38+ weather with lots of humidity.

    However, come winter I’m a total wuss and I can’t take ANY cold weather. Brrr! No way jose!

  3. 3 doozy August 15, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Nevis: ARE YOU A FISH?! SOME SORT OF CRUSTACEAN?! We should fight in some sort of epic battle of COLD vs. HEAT!

  4. 4 Lex August 16, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Hi! I bought the pugs a kiddie pool and i dunk them when it gets super hot. Me.. i just eat large quantities of ice cream.

    I suggest making friends with someone that as a swimming pool… that way you can get cool and you can dunk the dos too!

  5. 6 Nevis August 18, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Oh, it’s on, Doozy! Cold vs. Hot…!!!😛

  6. 7 Deidre August 19, 2008 at 11:37 am

    At least its not in the 40’s like it was in Phoenix while I was there. It was crazy because it was only in the 40’s for the two days I was there and once I left it went back to the low 20’s! Crazy!

  7. 8 doozy August 19, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    What?! 40?! Oh man that is gross. I hate how sticky everything is in 30 degree weather, let alone 40!

    Perhaps the weather was hot with anticipation?!

  8. 9 Nevis August 19, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Anticipation of what? Getting hotter? *laughing*


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

