By the Seawall…

Steve and I found a live starfish!  Unfortunately I was dressed maybe “not so well” in lovely little shoes that wouldn’t allow me to venture out and see it first hand.

The tide got really high last night and washed ashore the elusive “sea broccoli”, which you non-Vancouverites might just call “garbage”.  But I think we all see the treasure of broccoli here.  It doesn’t look like terribly old broccoli, either, so how the hell did it end up in the inlet???  Actually, truth be told I saw at least 3 tampon applicators washed ashore in all this crap within about 30 seconds, which doesn’t speak very well for the quality of water.  I just can’t figure out how all this shit gets into the inlet???

Here’s my little feets by some of the stuff that washed up onto the pathway on the seawall.  Notice I was wearing tights.  It started raining the MOMENT we stepped outside.  DAMNIT!  But you know what?  Whatever.  I rocked the shit out of those tights in the rain

Here’s Steve pointing out some more garbage washed ashore.  If you look in the background you can see how low the water level was by the afternoon, but overnight it was all the way up onto the seawall

Then I noticed the very rare “ocean moccasins” washed ashore.  What really freaks me out about these is HOW DID THE PAIR WASH ASHORE TOGETHER?!!

7 Responses to “By the Seawall…”


  1. 1 Goodboy Norman Featherstone July 7, 2008 at 7:23 am

    That purple starfish is pretty much the awesome. When we were in Mexico one time, this idiotic moron typical consume-aholic fat American lady found a live starfish on the beach and was going to take it home with her (killing it of course), so Ian distracted her and I picked up the starfish and flung it as hard as I could into the water so she couldn’t take it home. I figured it had a better chance that way. It wasn’t purple though.

  2. 2 doozy July 7, 2008 at 10:37 am

    HAHAH! I love it! I can’t believe someone would try to take home a live starfish. You’re just waiting to get some rare disease when you do stuff like that! Eeeek!

  3. 3 Nevis July 8, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Ha ha ha…love the elusive “sea broccoli”….however, maybe the moccasins might have been left there by a Chewbaca-loving hobo…? Seems unlikely that the washed up together, you know?

  4. 4 All Mod Cons July 8, 2008 at 8:53 am

    What’s wrong with tights in rain? Being a unknowing member of the male species, I don’t understand what’s wrong with tights in the rain. Do they dissolve?

  5. 5 doozy July 8, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    They don’t dissolve (thank God!), but it would be like having a very thin layer of wet cotton forcefully stuck to you…I guess it’s just more uncomfortable than anything

  6. 6 ultratoast July 8, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Those shoes rule. I think that brocolli looked remarkably untainted. Someone may have placed it there as a ruse.

  7. 7 doozy July 9, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I think people boating in the inlet are just extremely wasteful.

    “What do you say we head down the inlet and play a good old-fashioned game of broccoli toss?!”

    “Indeed! Jolly good idea!”

    See, when you come to Vancouver, Ultra, there will be many things to see!


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

