Scratch that Itch

I’ve been painting my nails for the past month, and so far it’s been a pretty nice little relaxing thing I can do once a week.  I haven’t worn nail polish for maybe eight years though because I stopped wearing it while I was working my first real job at Blockbuster Video.  I use the term “real” loosely.  When you work at Starbucks you’re not supposed to wear nail polish, lest a piece of you polish fly off your nail and into a latte for some unsuspecting sucker to ingest!
Since the bux I’ve just been too lazy to paint my nails, but now that OPI has become pretty standard for being a reliable nail lacquer, I’ve been experimenting more with colors.
So after a string of very bright colors (yellow being the last) I decided to paint my nails with a cheapy Rimmel polish called “Pink Opal.”
Three coats later and I am stuck in that “can’t do anything with your hands at all or you will eff your nails and have to start all over” phase.  With OPI I think that phase lasts like 2 minutes, but I must have forgotten my cheaper polish application would need a good 10 minutes before I could do anything.
So I go to bed and I test my nails to see if I’ll get the dreaded “sheet crease” in any of the nails, but it feels good, so I think I’m okay.
Then I get an itch on my ass.  And I go deep, forgetting that I have just recently applied nail polish, and shouldn’t be excavating any itches until the next day, after the polish has had a chance to harden.  So I scratch, thus relieving my butt itch.
Then I notice that the polish on my index (re: scratching finger du jour) has pushed back from the sheer force of my scratching!  And I am out of nail polish remover!
So now I have to look at my index finger until I get more polish remover and know that I was ass-deep in scratches last night in bed.
I call it, “The Finger of Shame!”

5 Responses to “Scratch that Itch”


  1. 1 Nevis June 23, 2008 at 10:23 am

    What a bummer! Hope no stank got caught up under the nail! *snicker*😉

  2. 2 Christine & Giggs June 23, 2008 at 11:56 am

    OMG lmfao!

    It is true though, the OPI is good shit. I have ‘Big Apple Red’ that I use on my toes occasionally and I love it because it looks awesome with only ONE coat! For a red, that is amazing!

    I have issues with breaking my nails all the time so I’ve been using OPI Nail Envy and it’s pretty good too.

  3. 3 Deidre June 23, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    ha ha ha ha! That’s funny because I do the exact same thing! I try to paint my nails before I watch a movie thinking I won’t do anything but sit on the couch for at least half an hour. Sometimes it works.

  4. 4 doozy June 23, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    OPI is truly where it’s at. I’ve tried to find China Glaze, but so far I’ve only found one place in Vancouver that sells it, and they only had 4 bottles, so not a big selection.

    Christine: I have a bright red from OPI too and mine only needed one coat as well! I almost pooped when I put it on because I was like, “How can this be so good with one coat?!!”

  5. 5 Jess & Clover June 23, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Haha, that’s hilarious! Hope you were able to pick up some nail polish remover soon after…


Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

