Fashion! (turn to the right)

It’s time for another self-esteem filled critique of others!  Since I went through the ringer in my second interview, I feel all exposed. Get this: They wanted me to show emotion, so they got me to talk about pets I’ve had, and why I love animals…and you know what happened?  I CRIED.  I cried in a Goddamn interview!  I was literally tearing up as I spoke about how much I loved my dogs and all the animals I’ve had in my life, and how much their companionship has meant to me, and then they were like, “Yes, that was what we were looking for.”  Then they got me to pretend that they were donors, and to try and get money for the org. I work for currently (which, hi, I wouldn’t reccomend that).  So I went on a long rant about North Vancouver and how there’s so many poor and desitute people out here but no one sees it, and it’s the human interactions that count blah blah (I just but the blah blah because it was a good five minute convincing session, not because I don’t care) and then the woman who was interviewing me said, “Oh my God, I need a minute, that almost made me cry!”  So all around it was this crying session interview, and I don’t know what to think of that, because normally you’re supposed to be professional in an interview, but the more I think about it, the more I really should show more emotion, because really, that’s why I got into it.  Because these causes move my heart.  But hi, when you cry in an interview, that doesn’t say fun.  I left feeling like I had gotten naked and done a dance, or had tried to awkwardly make out with one of the two people interviewing me, only to be rejected.  You know?  That stomach turning, painful, embarassed feeling.  I guess if they wanted emotion though, they sure as hell got it. 

 Anyhow, enough work talk for now, because frankly, there are too many people committing fashion crimes out there to ignore!

Exhibit A:  The garbage bag dress

Or at least, that’s what this looks like.  What woman walks out of the house and thinks that a sac is going to be super trendy?

I guess there’s just a big-ass trend going on in Europe right now, because I’m seeing a lot of big-ass pieces in wardrobes…such as the big-ass infinity scarf:

It looks like she’s wearing an elephant’s ear on her neck. 

And the infamous Hammer Pant:

Try and do the typewriter in those shoes!

But then there are people who I think are doing a good job and taking some good risks that are really fun:

Hotness, hotness, hotness.  I don’t know how she’s walking in this, but it looks good!

And in honor of Valentine’s Day, I am going to let this one slide:

And after a more thorough look at Face Hunter, I can’t find anyone else who has dressed in a reasonable way lately…yikes!

7 Responses to “Fashion! (turn to the right)”


  1. 1 Amanda February 5, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Wow, crying at an interview. That would be a first. So… did you get it?

  2. 2 doozy February 5, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I don’t know yet, waaaaah! I find out at the end of this week or next week.

  3. 3 Goodboy Norman Featherstone February 5, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Oh my, that sounds pretty weird. I cry when I quit jobs, but never when I’m interviewing for them. But then again, this sounds like a touchy-feely group of people, so I would have probably cried too. I did cry, however, when I saw some of those hideous outfits you posted.

  4. 4 Que Sarah February 5, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I think it’s great that you did showed your emotions today – you showed them the deep passion you have for what you do -if only more people were passionate about what they do- I’m certain that you totally landed this.
    Now, go steal that girl’s Hammer pants ’cause you can’t touch this!
    *It’s Hammer go Hammer MC Hammer Yo Hammer and the rest can go and play Can’t Touch This* LOL!!!!😛

  5. 5 Panda's mom February 6, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Lol, I love the fashion victims, always makes me laugh….but hey, what is the typewriter??

    Oh and I can’t think of a better place to cry than at a interview for a job at an animal shelter🙂

  6. 6 ultratoast February 6, 2008 at 10:20 am

    That sounds like a pretty weird interview. Isn’t forcing you to cry a kind of torture?

  7. 7 Blondie February 7, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Eeks about the interview! I have never cried in an interview, but I’m sure if I continue to work for non profits, it’s going to happen one day. Sounds like you’re good to go, though!!

    Bleh, work is wearing me down. I’m off to Cali today and only have to work for about 45 more minutes. Longest 45 minutes of my life.


Leave a Reply

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

