I’ll get right on that

I have to leave for my second interview with the animal shelter soon (woo!), but I am just sitting here stewing on thought, so I might as well get it out.

I’m really dissapointed in the organization I work for.  I can’t believe it has turned into an “us” (three employees and one kind of boss) vs. THEM (terrible, terrible board).  The Chair is a dismissal lawyer, so our employment agreement is a bajillion pages long and filled with so much hidden law terminology that it makes me sick to look at it.  Do they think we’re stupid?  There is actually part of a clause that says not only should we give a month’s notice, but if we quit before then, we have to pay the organization any damages suffered as a result of the termination of our own employment.  Talk about a rat trap.  I also noticed a clause that says that they can fire us without just cause.  Uhhhh, hi, AGAINST LABOR LAWS???  I plan on just dragging out the signing for at least two weeks.  After all, I need to seek legal counsel, right? (otherwise known as me applying for as many jobs as humanly possible in the next two weeks in order to try and get another job ASAP).

The good news is that I sent the animal shelter an emai last week explaining the awful circumstances and letting them know I VERY MUCH want to work for them, so I need an interview ASAP.  And I have one!  I was really debating whether or not to send them an email at all, as I might sound cocky, but they picked up what I layed down and so now I have an interview in a half hour…

Oh sweet baby Jesus I hope something comes of this.  There are only so many “doctor’s appointments” I can go on….

7 Responses to “I’ll get right on that”


  1. 1 Goodboy Norman Featherstone February 4, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Good luck! I hate your Word Press site BTW. It says I am posting comments too quickly. Saw-ray!

  2. 2 Doozy February 4, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Whhhaaaa? How can you post a comment TOO quickly? That is a sham!

  3. 3 Sandra February 4, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    That’s hilarious. How many doctor’s appts have you been on in the last two weeks? You should tell them that somethings wrong with you and that your doctor ordered a battery of tests, say, 25, all of which require you to take a day off work and that you’re just hoping it’s not something toooo serious.

    I got it. Tell them you’re getting a colonoscopy, and then say that you had a bad reaction to the enema. Do it.

  4. 4 doozy February 4, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I should say it’s spinal meningitis at this rate!

    See, last time I went for an interview, it was the doctor, then this week I chose the dentist. After this week I’ll have mondays off and work Sat. instead, so that will give me a day to do interviews!

  5. 5 Sandra February 4, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Just tell them that the last time you went to the doctor, they told you you needed to have a colonoscopy. Throw an ultrasound in, too, for good measure. Make sure to look plenty worried while you’re telling them this. Pretend to fight back tears.

  6. 6 BD February 4, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Sounds familiar, Board of Directors don’t really seem to get the point – it’s just a hour a month to them for the nice little line on the resume or the networking opportunities…

  7. 7 tjam February 4, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Oohhhh! So excited! Let me know as soon as you can about the job! Sid wanted me to tell you she got a webkin that she named Winston (it looks exactly like him). xo


Leave a Reply

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


