As if it couldn’t get any more wicked.

Apparently my current workplace will be giving all of the employees new employment agreements that state that we must give a MONTH’s notice if we want to quit.

What the shit is that?

 You’re telling me that you can fire me with a week’s notice, but if I want to quit, I have to give you FOUR?

I call bullshit, and I am not signing that.

I emailed the animal shelter and explained the circumstances, and that I REALLY want the job, so I guess we’ll see what happens there…I am hopng good things????  PLEASE??!?

 I can’t stand it.  I am getting headaches every day, I have trouble sleeping, and I feel just a general sense of doom around here.  I am trying to stay positive, but this is just insane.  Who in their right mind would think it’s okay to pay people shit money, and then make them give a month’s notice if they want to leave?  What place would hire me when I say, “oh yeah, I have to give them 4 week’s notice, so I’ll be back for my job in a month!  Okay???”

 Eff that!

7 Responses to “As if it couldn’t get any more wicked.”


  1. 1 Goodboy Norman Featherstone February 1, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    They can’t make you sign that, and even if you do sign it, they can’t do anything to you if you don’t live up to the agreement. What will they do – sue you to come back to work for them for four more weeks? They’re freaking out from loss of employees, and they’re stupid. Just tell them no.

  2. 2 Doozy February 1, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    The interesting thing is that the Chair of the Board is a Dismissal Lawyer, so yes, they might sue me.

  3. 3 Que Sarah February 1, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    AGH! You poor thing!! This whole thing is making *me* crazy, I can only imagine what you’re going through.
    I say give your 4 weeks notice now and cross your fingers.

  4. 4 A Lil' Irish Lass February 1, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    That is so unethical! Can they really make you sign that?

  5. 5 Doozy February 1, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Well, I talked to the BC Labour Board and they said that they *could* fire me if I don’t sign it, but if they do, I can take them to court and sue for dismissal without just cause, which hi, do I even want to deal with that shit??

  6. 6 Lorkeet February 2, 2008 at 11:55 am

    That is such bullshit. DO NOT SIGN THAT PIECE OF PAPER! If they threaten to fire you, threaten to go to the media. No non-profit would want the public to know that they were using their funds to sue an employee for not agreeing to a ridiculous agreement. Or make it very clear that if they do fire you that you are not afraid to take things as far as you need to. Make up an uncle who also does employement law – or better yet an uncle who works for the BC Human Rights Commission. If things get too bad, come down with with a bad flu that keeps you away from work for a couple weeks. Would they know you were faking? Yeah, probably. Could they prove it? No way. Don’t let them push you round.

  7. 7 Sandra February 2, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    A) That’s bull. I implore you not to sign on the dotted line.

    B) I reeealllly like your new banner, can you make me one?


Leave a Reply

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


