Mayhem Ensues

Well, we’re losing one girl to maternity leave today, and then we found out yesterday that we’re losing the Fundraiser to another org, so that leaves only 4 people working for the nonprofit I work for now.  We had ten when I started here! 

The board doesn’t want to hire anyone new because they want to save some money for programming, but let’s get real here…four people to run an organization that was run by ten?  Isn’t it a little ridiculous to assume we’re going to stick around and pick up the slack that 60% of the staff we now don’t have, used to do?  Methinks mayhem is afoot.

I got really freaked out last night because so many people are now going to be gone.  I don’t want to even think about it.  It’s just making me sick.  Our board is made up of morons.  They don’t know what they’re doing.  I have to stick it out until I find another job, but man, I hope another job comes along…FAST.

I applied for three other jobs yesterday in the midst of my freakout, so hopefully someone calls me back about those sometime soon.  Or maybe I’ll just be waiting around for the animal shelter job that for some reason is taking another two weeks before they do a second interview.

To be honest, I believe I might be getting discriminated against because I am young.  Much younger than anyone else working there it seems.  This kind of thing happened when I was at the Y.  I would get blamed for things I had absolutely no part in because it’s easier to lay the shit onto the twentysomething than to admit you did something wrong in your 50s.  I don’t get it.  I am absolutely more than qualified to do that job.  I have years of experience in the nonprofit sector.  I could plan, evalute, take to dinner, and make love to the stuff I would need to do for that job.  Alas. They are for some reason stalling on me, and need to interview me again, even though on my last interview they had pretty much assured me that I was an amazing fit and would do really well.

“BUT WAIT!  SHE IS YOUNG!  SHE DOESN’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT ANYTHING EVEN THOUGH HER DEGREE IS IN NONPROFIT MANAGEMENT!!!!  WE MUST SIT AND THINK ABOUT THIS FOR ANOTHER TWO WEEKS!!!”

I call bullshit.  This is, in fact, the same sort of thing I went through at the Y.  They liked me.  Then I call and they said they gave the job to someone else.  Then they call two weeks later and say that I’m hired with $20,000 more a year than they originally told me.  WHAT. THE. HELL.

Screw it, let’s just move to Tofino and take up surfing:

6 Responses to “Mayhem Ensues”


  1. 1 Amanda January 31, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Oh man, I’m totally there. I saw a posting for an acrage in Tofino yesterday! We could all live there and raise puggies!

    K, one thing I am thinking though… if they are acting like the way the Y did… and you hated working at the Y… maybe it won’t be the dream job we think it would be?

  2. 2 Tjam January 31, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    WTF! Maybe you should dye your hair grey/purple and put it in those spongy pink curlers before your next interview. Darren wanted me to ask you if you knit cock socks???

  3. 3 doozy January 31, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    You know what? As a matter of fact, Steve and I were talking about knitting weiner cozys. Haha. Everyone needs a weiner cozy when it’s cold out. What do you think?

  4. 4 Goodboy Norman Featherstone February 1, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Age discrimmination is pretty rampant. I’m sorry you’re going through it. Woman has dealt with it in the past too. Assholes.

  5. 5 A Lil' Irish Lass February 1, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Methinks mayhem is a left big toe, to be specific.

  6. 6 Christine & Giggs February 2, 2008 at 10:43 am

    I’ll go to Tofino and take up surfing with you. We can train the pugs to surf and become a tourist attraction. Right after I learn myself…


Leave a Reply

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

