“Yeah, but did they have Ovaltine?”

I went with some pals to the Ovaltine Cafe on East Hastings, which is an adventure in itself. Apparently an episode of the X Files was filed here, as well as some scenes for i-Robot. Ben Affleck was there once too, but Steve says it’s because the Ovaltine was all he could afford. Ha!

(photos from Flickr) 

Scary, no? Oh yes, and they DO serve Ovaltine. It was good. But I ordered pie a-la-mode, and the lady brought it to me cold…like…straight out of the fridge cold…with ice cream…

The best part is that there’s a $3 minimum charge per person at a booth, which is actually a task because everything is like $2! Luckily, my pie and ovaltine brought me to a whopping $4.00 or so. BIG SPENDERS!

More tomorrow…

7 Responses to ““Yeah, but did they have Ovaltine?””


  1. 1 ultratoast January 28, 2008 at 5:16 am

    Your bog-standard mug of coffee would cost you $4 over here. Bring on the cheapness!

  2. 2 bluesunday January 28, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Mmm, now I kinda want some Ovaltine. Awesome pics!

  3. 3 Goodboy Norman Featherstone January 28, 2008 at 8:02 am

    The People love them some x-files. Do you recall what episode was filmed there? Ben Affleck is the suck.

  4. 4 La January 28, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Great pictures! Sounds like it was a ton of fun!

  5. 5 A Lil' Irish Lass January 28, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I LOVE Ovaltine! Now I have to run out and buy some at lunch. Yum!

  6. 6 Doozy January 28, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I don’t know what episode. I haven’t seen i-robot either, so I was like, “really, they actually FILMED something here??”

    It’s pretty dingy, so I guess it’s supposed to pass for an old style diner. It certainly is old! I guess it opened in like 1943. I don’t think they’ve cleaned the floor since then, either.

  7. 7 dryhumourwetcoast January 29, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Oh man, the Ovaltine was so good.


Leave a Reply

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


