I’m going to p2tog my eyes out!

Can I tell you how much the scarf above has gone from the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen to the SCARF OF MY DISCONTENT?!  I am sitting here with a pulled muscle in my shoulder and a headache, all from this scarf!

I saw this scarf on ravelry, and I knew I had to try and make it.  Up until now I’ve been pretty much knitting straight, rectangular scarves as my first attempts to get back into knitting, and they’ve all gone reasonably well.  Then I thought, “Pfft, I can do this” when I saw the above scarf, but no.  I am this much done:

photo-121.jpg

and I have already ripped it apart about sixteen times.  I want to rip my brain out of my skull and step on it.  It’s likely because I haven’t knit in about eight years, but jesus christ, it’s going from a relaxing activity to rocket science over here! But I refuse to let the scarf win!!!  I MUST DEFEAT THIS PATTERN!  Maybe I haven’t had enough caffeine today…or maybe not enough alcohol, but I will tell you this:  ENTRELAC SCARF: YOU’RE GOING DOWN, BITCH!  I OWN YOU!

I think.

12 Responses to “I’m going to p2tog my eyes out!”


  1. 1 shellssells January 2, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I swear to you…..it will get easier once you get the pattern established!

    It will start making sense. Then there will be a rhythm you get into with it, then before you know it you will be done. And then you will have an overwhelming urge to make another. I know. Cause that is exactly what happened to me!

  2. 2 Ruby January 2, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    OMG you are so brave! I did one interlac block for an afgan (which I never finished)…if I can recall I ripped it out a few times too!!

    Good luck! I can’t wait to see it finished…and you will finish it!

    Michele
    PS – what’s your ID on ravelry? mine is wonderruby (go figure)

  3. 3 La January 3, 2008 at 6:14 am

    I can’t knit to save my life, so you’re already WAY ahead of me. Crocheting? I am the master. But knitting? No thank you. That scarf would be enough to make me cry.
    🙂

  4. 4 Goodboy Norman Featherstone January 3, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Woman has had projects like that too. Can you link to that pattern?

  5. 5 Jess January 3, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Happy new year! Don’t worry, I am sure the scarf will get easier! It does look like it would be really hard to make… I say add more caffeine. That is my motto…
    Go doozy! Own that scarf!

  6. 6 Michelle January 3, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I can’t help you with the knitting, I always stuck to crochet because I couldn’t handle two needles. The scarf is pretty kick ass though. Good luck!

  7. 7 A Lil' Irish Lass January 3, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I’ve always wanted to pick up knitting. After this post, I’m reconsidering.

    (Love the shot of you biting your nails in frustration, btw).

  8. 8 doozy January 3, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    You should! It’s really fun, and there seem to be a lot of knitting clubs out there now!

  9. 9 ultratoast January 4, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Yeah! Dominate that wool!

  10. 10 Januaries January 4, 2008 at 9:57 am

    You’re awesome. I can’t knit. My grandmothers and my aunts have tried to teach but to avail. Can’t do it, can’t beat my inborn clumsiness.

    Best of luck with the pattern. The work in progress looks great.

  11. 11 Lorkeet January 4, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    HA! I laughed out loud when I saw the 2nd photo! And then I laughed again when I read what you wrote.

    Keep up the good work.

  12. 12 Blondie January 6, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I love it! Well, the finished version anyway…

    if you ever become a whiz at it, you should send one over to Blondie in Calg!


Leave a Reply

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

