In and around Vancouver on a Saturday

Today Steve and I went around to a few different districts in Vancouver.  We realized that we’ve been pretty safe in that we haven’t really been too far into Vancouver “proper”, which is the larger portion of Vancouver.  This is pretty much because anything you’d ever want or need is likely at your fingertips in downtown Vancouver, and is easy to walk to.  It’s like a small town in a big city, well, except for the drunken hobos pooping in alleys.  I am pretty sure that brings me back to reality every time.

We walked by an antique store boasting some odd fares in the window, such as a variety of ceramic elephants caught in the middle of a great joke I assume…

“HAHA, ELEPHANTS LOVE JOKES!  WOULDN’T YOU LIKE TO OWN SOME ELEPHANTS CAUGHT IN A FIT OF JOY?!”  I know I would.

We also saw this poor doggie sitting outside for maybe a half hour in the rain.  I don’t know where the owner was, but they eventually came to get him (or her?).  Steve took a moment to give it a little break from the rain.

We also ended up at CUPCAKE HEAVEN, I mean, come on, they don’t even need a freaking store name.  You just see the cupcake and you’re like, LET’S DO THIS.

You know what though?  Debit AND credit were both down.  I don’t carry cash on me, like EVER.  WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT!!!!  The girl at the counter told me this only after I had chosen a container of six delicious cupcakes.  KILL. ME. NOW.

Also, are phone booths dissapearing where you are? This is one of the only phone booths I’ve seen in Vancouver, and it had this odd photo glued to it.  Then I looked inside and there wasn’t even a phone in it!  WHAT IS GOING ON, PHONE COMPANY???

Beside the phone booth was a tree that had, I swear, TESTICLES.  I think you can click on the photo to enlarge, but if not, trust me, this thing had an enormous pair of testicles.  I don’t know why they grew out the side, but apparently out here even the trees have balls.

And finally, this was just a creepy little house I saw.  I think the photo makes it look a lot nicer than it was, actually.  If you look at the window, you’ll see a dirty old mannequin head is sitting on the ledge.  CREEPY.

Sadly, the dogs had to stay home this trip.  The good news is that no one shit on the floor while we were out!  Hurrah!

6 Responses to “In and around Vancouver on a Saturday”


  1. 1 Christine November 4, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Haha! I LOVE elephant jokes! My dad knows like a million and used to tell them to us when we were little. Here’s two I can remember:

    How does an elephant hide in a cherry tree?
    He paints his toenails red.

    How did Tarzan die?
    Pickin’ cherries.

    How do you catch an elephant?
    You dig a hole, put peas in the bottom of the hole, and ashes all around the edge of the hole.
    When the elephant goes to take a pea you kick him in the ash-hole.

    Hahahah! I’m going to google more! Look what you’ve started!

  2. 2 Christine November 4, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Holy crap! There’s an entire Wikipedia page about elephant jokes and their origin, make-up, etc. Apparently they were a fad in the 60’s! Who knew?!

  3. 3 Goodboy Norman Featherstone November 5, 2007 at 7:11 am

    Wow! You ventured out of your comfort zone and in the rain! I guess it rains a lot though. Joking elephants look fun. I think Winston would pee on them though.

  4. 4 katylo November 5, 2007 at 11:33 am

    I hate when credit and debit is down. I never carry cash, either. They should just give you stuff for free when they can’t take cards, seriously.

    Also, that house is totally creepy, I agree. That’s something out of my nightmares.

  5. 5 Emily November 5, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Isn’t cupcake heaven redundant?

  6. 6 doozywhoop November 5, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Haha, completely!


Leave a Reply

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

