The Elevator of my discontent.

Ahh, baby Zelda. Since that other dog attacked you, you have been quite the bundle of….fun?

Any time Zelda sees another large dog now, she will set out on a massive freak out, not even barking, but SCREAMING at them. That gets Winston started, and soon I have two pugs making the most ridiculous “barks” at an extremely loud volume, which pretty much embarasses the hell out of me.

I tried checking out Cesar Milan, but he uses a collar to train dogs that I can’t really use on a pug, so I feel kind of stuck on that front.

I tried food bribes, which seems to work….oh….50% of the time.

Holding them down doesn’t work either because they are so set on just SCREAMING that holding them down just makes them freak out more, and frankly, it’s a little difficult to hold down TWO dogs that are flipping out.

Sigh.

I think it’s pretty much back to the drawing board for these puppies! I’ve got to get back to really simple training and try and slowly introduce them back into doggie society.

Until then, I get to experience fun times like having people on an elevator literally shut my dogs, Steve and I out because they are barking at someone’s dog who started barking first. Those people will get a nice poopy surprise outside their doors I suspect.

5 Responses to “The Elevator of my discontent.”


  1. 1 Christine & Giggs September 25, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    I feel so bad for you guys.

    We have a collar for Giggs that we use for training. I admit, it does have a shock function, which we use when he tries to pee on another dog, but it also has tones (good tone/bad tone).

    The little zap is paired with the bad tone and now we don’t even use the zap button, just the bad tone and he gets the message. The good tone is for when they obey a command and get rewarded.

    Maybe you can find a collar that just has the tone functions? Of course if she’s screaming like a banshee, she may not hear it.

  2. 2 LMizzle September 25, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Haha, yeah she’s quite the yelper! I can’t even believe she will keep barking over the lemon spray! Blech!

  3. 3 Manda Girl September 25, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    I’m pretty sure you have thought of this but – what about a can (like a pop can) with pennies in it to make a noise that would freak her out and get her to stop and focus her attention on it?

    The only other thing that we TRY to do with Meimei when she barks at random things on the TV is that we start yelling (not yelling bad, or stop – just yelling AAAHHHHHHH) – and then she stops barking. That would be super funny if you did that while approaching an elevator!

    What about trying to distract before she even gets started – with a pocket full of treats or something?

    I WISH I COULD HELP!

  4. 4 Katy September 25, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Oh, man, pug screeches are the WORST! Suki pulls that all the time, but it’s usually because she WANTS to see another dog, not because she’s afraid of it. Then again, she’s never been attacked before!

    Is Zelda OK physically? She wasn’t hurt, right?

    Jeez, I don’t know what to do about that. I would guess letting them back into the dog park, or somewhere else safer but with dogs, might help. She might just need to get used to big dogs again. Poor baby. And poor you!

  5. 5 Ultra Toast Mosha God September 26, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Gah.

    No Advice. Sorry


Leave a Reply

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

