What it means to have a dog

On the news last night Steve and I saw the story of a man whose 14 year old dalmation had gone down a sewer pipe. The man dug for hours, and ended up having several layers of rock and dirt fall on him as he dug with his hands to get to his dog.
The news outlet was there for when the man finally pulled his poor dog out of the sewer, and the pure elation and tears from this man made both of us well up.
I don’t know what I would do without my little pug family. Life is so different, and it is so much more fulfilling to get to live with animals again. Whether it’s coming home to see Winston and Zelda greet me at the door with kisses and lots of wiggles, or just sitting with them on the sofa–I really wouldn’t trade anything in the world for those dogs.
I would likely be down in a sewer drain myself if one of my dogs were stuck, and I felt really wonderful for the man when he finally had his beloved dog in his arms again. If you would have shown me that same news story two years ago, I would still be happy for the man, but now I know what it is to have my own little doggy family, and I wonder why I didn’t have one earlier?
They are my company when I am alone, they are my sidekicks on adventures, they are my suggle pugs at bed time, and they are my constant whiners for cereal when I eat breakfast.

Seriously though, I could do without the whining at breakfast, but I’ll let it slide.

4 Responses to “What it means to have a dog”


  1. 1 Manda Girl August 22, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Yeah – the barking at the tv could be less but…

    Yeah, I saw that yesterday and had to change the channel because I was going to start bawling. I love my pooches and the life they have given me too!

    Lots of kisses for Zelda and her wounded paw!!

  2. 2 Goodboy Norman Featherstone August 22, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Awe, how sweet.

  3. 3 Pug Mommy August 23, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Oh I know exactly what you mean! I don’t know what I would do without crazing wiggling puggie butts when I come home!

    I could also do without the begging for cereal. What is that makes pugs go nuts for cereal? Our come flying as soon as they hear it hit the bowl!

  4. 4 Katy August 23, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Suki actually jumps up onto my lap while I’m eating and tries to grab food as quickly as she can off my plate. She’s got it down. Either that or she waits next to the girls because they’re always dropping things.

    I would have been crying, too. I can’t even watch a damn animal movie without crying! Yesenia’s like “Let’s watch Homeward Bound again” and I always say no cuz I am so ashamed that I cry at the end EVERY TIME!!!


Leave a Reply

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

