On the weather here (and how to teach your dog proper table manners)

Ahh yes, a nice, cloudy day in Vancouver. Now I am experiencing the full range that this city has to offer! It’s been pretty nice out the last few weeks, which may not be very exciting to all of you, but apparently in Vancouver this is like a dream come true!
I was talking to someone a few weeks ago who said that she’d only heard of a lake freezing here once in 40 years. RIDICULOUS! I can’t believe that it’s so temperate out here! I’ll be grabbing my swimsuit and heading to the beach in the FALL! Wooooooo!
So I ordered a sofa, ohhh, TWO MONTHS ago, and it hasn’t arrived yet. It’s a custom made sofa that was supposed to take six to eight weeks to be fully made and arrive to the apartment.

WHERE IS MY SOFA, SOFA COMPANY???

I’ll tell you where: it’s stuck on some train somewhere between Winnipeg and Vancouver because there was a train accident. A train accident?? Those hardly happen because a train goes on TRAIN TRACKS. How can you mess that up??? Apparently it’s quite easy.

I’ve been sitting in a chair I built from Ikea for the past two weeks because I think it’s now been ten weeks since I ordered this couch. Steve has taken to sitting in a lawn chair. We are seriously rocking some style in our Yaletown apartment. Living in class is what we do best. In fact, I ate my breakfast of oatmeal out of a plastic bowl with a plastic spoon even though we have our dishes put away because THAT’S JUST HOW I ROLL.

I can’t wait for all the boxes to be out of the way. I hate that part about moving. That, and the moving.

Poor Zelda caught her front leg on a piece of metal from this ikea bed frame thing that was on the floor, and she is now sporing a nice little gash on her leg. Lucky for me I bought a pet first aid kit and took care of business! She’s now sporting a lovely red bandage on her leg that looks like one of those tennis wristbands you wipe sweat off your brow with. I was thinking we’d head to the park and I’d tape a racket to her paw and we’d look pretty good. Dogs don’t mind it when you tape things to their appendages, right? I mean, how else would I teach them to eat with a knife and fork?!

6 Responses to “On the weather here (and how to teach your dog proper table manners)”


  1. 1 Christine & Giggs August 10, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Poor Zelda!

    We had to wait forever to get our couch too. We special ordered it because we wanted a specific couch but it had to be a sofa bed as well (it’s in the Wii/guestroom).

    At least you’re in a city with an IKEA! Oh how long it’s been since I’ve had the privilege of roaming it’s glorious paths!

  2. 2 Princess Pointful August 10, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    I will spare you the nerdiness of a full fledged explanation, and just say that train accidents are a heck of a lot easier than you think… partially due to the fact that each car ways many, many tons, thus often taking several miles to fully brake, and partially due to the fact that people are very, very stupid when it comes to trains (e.g., trying to race through crossings).

    Sorry- I lived with a train conductor for many years, so this stuff is ingrained!!

    Psst… I’m trying again… Tori Amos in December. You know you want to!

  3. 3 LMizzle August 10, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    I seriously do! How much money are the tickets???

  4. 4 LMizzle August 10, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Wait, when the hell is Tegan and Sara??? I need to actually go pick up my ticket for that!

  5. 5 Katy August 10, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Awww…poor wittle Zelda! I hope she gets better soon πŸ™‚

    I am seriously going crazy for a black pug. But I’m pretty sure my husband will divorce me if I bring another dog home. What the hell, I’ll do it anyway! I can’t decide on a puppy or an adult through rescue, though.

    Man, I’m so rambling right now! I hope your couch comes soon. I hate waiting for stuff in the mail.

  6. 6 LMizzle August 11, 2007 at 6:49 am

    You should totally get another pug. Seriously, they will keep each other such good company.

    I’d like to think that the right dog will come to you. If you find a rescue dog that you are thinking of, I’d take Suki to visit it first. I think if they can get along in a visit, that then you’ll know they could live together. Some pugs can get pretty bitchy about new dogs. It’s good that Suki lived with Twix before though!


Leave a Reply

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

