Can you feel the fireworks between us?

I think it might just take me an hour to actually type out all the crazy stuff that happened this weekend! Let’s start at the beginning though…

On Friday night Steve and I had planned to go see the finale of the International Fireworks Competition. This is a competition where three countries try to blow up a lot of fireworks for a bunch of stoners who get high and sit on the beach. They also scream with amazement. A LOT. In fact, I can easily say that I’ve never seen so many people go so nuts over what is essentially just a show of fire. But you know what? Fire is cool, and if I were on drugs, I would have probably screamed too. It was just funny to think that so many people at a beach could yell with so much joy at a choreographed fireworks show. We’re talking so loud that I couldn’t even hear the music that the fireworks were choreographed to!

The best part about this is that the fireworks were launched off of a bard that was a little ways into the ocean. Basically you get to sit on the beach with a zillion other people and everyone has a perfect view. Apparently Canada won the competition, but I’ll be damned if I could tell you which one of the sets was actually Canada. I mean, I could tell that there were about four different shows, but fireworks tend to kind of blend together into a large bonanza of explosives, so I wasn’t too focused on the hard facts.

The part that you will likely enjoy the most is that Steve and I managed to walk in the EXACT WRONG DIRECTION to get to the fireworks. I don’t even know how it happened, or why neither of us realized that we were walking North, when we should have been heading South! We even planned out how to get there, but for some reason we got so excited about going to the fireworks that we headed off to the PORT. WTF??? Needless to say we had to take a cab to the beach, and the cabbie proceeded to laugh his ass off at how stupid we were. Not in a mean way, but like a “you darn kids” kind of way. Seven bucks later we were at the beach!

9 Responses to “Can you feel the fireworks between us?”


  1. 1 Okami August 8, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    I’ll be sure to buy you a compass before I come out to visit!

  2. 2 Lorkeet August 8, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    The Benson and Hedges Symphony of Fire (as it was called back in the day before money from big tobacco somehow became dirty) was one of my favourite parts about living in Vangroovy! The year I saw it England won with a show of all purple fireworks set to the music of Purple Rain. Fab-u-lous! Oh, and I was super high too. I miss BC bud….

  3. 3 LMizzle August 8, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Hahah, Oh man, watching all purple fireworks to Purple Rain would be the highlight of my life. Pretty much anything set to Prince is all good though.

  4. 4 LMizzle August 8, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Haha, I really do need a compass. But wait, I knew where I was supposed to go and I STILL went in the wrong direction…I don’t know if anything can help me when I do stupid shit like that!

  5. 5 Ike August 8, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    Seven Canadian dollars … psh.
    Emily

  6. 6 Ike August 8, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    So I just looked up the exchange rate and the US dollar blows worse than ever! 95 Canadian cents to the US dollar. Never mind.I’m moving to Canada.

  7. 7 LMizzle August 8, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Haha, welcome to the great Canadian North!

  8. 8 tjam August 8, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Seriously!!! Purple fireworks to Purple rain whilst high???? I’m packin. . . .
    By the way if you didn’t check your e-mail yet CALL ME!
    xoxo

  9. 9 tjam August 8, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    P.S. I’m at work until 8 p.m. this week.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

