Keepin’ it real

Word up.

The unpacking thus far is going slower than a senior citizen! I kind of do this thing where I look into a box, then think, eh, I’ll do that later, and then move on. Really this does no good because I’m not unpacking anything, but rather, just opening boxes and thinking, “meh.”

I’m also trying to keep my wardrobe at a reasonable level. I figure that I work at a nonprofit that has its own used clothing boutique, so I have somewhere easy to take my stuff! It’s hard to remember to actually TAKE the stuff to work with me.

Then there’s the problem of buying new furniture. We need to get some bookcases and a bed frame, but do we order them now, when the apartment is already full of boxes, or do we wait? I need the bookshelves to unpack the books, so I assume I should go get them, but something about adding more boxes to my pile is putting me off the idea.

Aside from this, I have deemed myself the “IKEA assembly champ” because I’ve managed to put so much furniture together from this store. Pssshhhh, I could set up all their displays at this rate!

Also, when you move a long way, I have discovered that things you though you’d want in the new city, you sometimes open to think, “WTF? Why did I bring this?” Maybe it’s the idea of taking familiar items with you, but then once you arrive, you realize you didn’t need it?

On yet another note, a pug came to the dog park a few days ago. The creepy thing was that the dude let the dog come into the park and run around to play, but he stayed 50 feet away on the grass. He stayed there the whole time too! All the other people actually come out onto the grass to socialize, but not this guy. He wanted to stand by the poop bag, overflowing mess of a trash can in the dusk and watch all of us.

Creepy people are not allowed to own pugs! I should have stuffed the dog in my purse. I’m sure that would have gone over well when I got home.

“What’s in your bag?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

“It’s moving. Did you take a dog from the dog park?!”

“We’ve always had this dog. You know……..Binky the pug……..?”

Yes. I’m sure it would have gone quite well.

7 Responses to “Keepin’ it real”


  1. 1 tjam August 2, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    You have to take the stuff out of the boxes no matter what or you’ll never get unpacked. Just the books up where the bookshelves are going to go eventually. Do it, Do it.

  2. 2 Ronin_The_Pug August 3, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Oh we know about moving! It was such a mess… we tried to label all the things but in the end we were asking “what the f. is in this box?” The worst thing was the bookshelf… we have so many books… when we started to arrange them on the shelves we tried to put them by authors… after a couple of hours we gave up… 😛

  3. 3 Goodboy Norman Featherstone August 3, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Awe, don’t steal Binky. Maybe his owner has social anxiety disorder. You should be impressed that he loves his Pug so much that he would fight his fears and take him to the dog park.

    I know what you mean about unpacking boxes. We will have lived in this house 2 years this October, and I still have boxes in the “spare room” that I open every now and then and say MEH to! LOL!

  4. 4 LMizzle August 3, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Yeah there’s totally weird boxes like that. It’s boxes of stuff that you don’t really want to give away, but you don’t really want out in the house. It’s so hard just to throw that kind of thing out!

  5. 5 Ultra Toast Mosha God August 3, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Just anaesthetise the dog and claim it’s a toy if somebody asks you what it is.

    Problem solved

  6. 6 Katy August 4, 2007 at 2:14 am

    There’s tons of weird pug people here in FL. In fact, everyone at the meetups is loony. I think I’ve managed to meet one sane person in the past 7 months. It must be the heat or the humidity or the fact that everyone is republican and stupid.

  7. 7 lepug August 5, 2007 at 7:26 am

    I generally don’t like to go on the grass either but that’s because I don’t want to step in poop and there are lots of bugs in the grass (this is Houston, it’s hot and humid). But luckily for me, our dog park has concrete in the center with a nice sitting area if I choose to sit. The grass is all around the concrete so I can follow the boys everywhere. This guy must be crazy if he likes to stand by a can of poop!

    PS – the Pug Meetup here in Houston is not as fun as the one we use to go to in Los Angeles. It must be the heat and humidity.


Leave a Reply

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


