It’s pretty tiring living in Vancouver

As you can see, Zelda agrees with me.

Seriously though, I don’t know if the altitude change or humidity is doing it, or if I am just insane, but I am seriously DRAINED by the end of the day. Actually, the Duke and I were discussing how hard it is to breathe in humid air compared to really dry air and I think that may be part of it. I also forgot to take one of my anxiety pills today until the afternoon, so that kind of effed me up too! Agh.

Today was a good day. I met the Duke for a fashion frenzie on Main St. where I joyously shopped my little heart out. I bought a shirt made of freakin’ BAMBOO! It’s pretty awesome shopping out here, which is pretty bad for me because I like to shop. I basically have to buckle down and pay off my line of credit though, so for the next while I will be running a tight ship!

There was some huge street party in Yaletown today, but it was full of douchebaggery, so I wasn’t really interested in it (plus, I had shopping to do!). I DID see a dog agility course out my window, so I guess it’s a bummer to have missed that, but really I’d say my day was well worth it.

Wait, except the morning. Let me explain…

I get up all groggy (as usual for me until I get into the shower), and step into the shower. I go to turn on the tap and stick my hand under the fawcet waiting for the water to heat up to an LMizzle friendly temperature. In all my grogginess I end up standing there for at least a minute straight and then realize that the water is FREEZING COLD though it is set to hot.

Am I dreaming?

I turn the tap off and back on.

COLD. ICE COLD.

Now by this time I am getting a little cold since I have been standing around buck naked with my hand under a cold tap!

THIS CAN’T BE HAPPENING!!!

I step out of the shower and turn on the bathroom tap.

ICE COLD!!!!

AAAAAAAAGGGGH!

I think that maybe the landlady didn’t pay the water heating bill? Maybe??

I eventually just have to shove my head under a freezing cold stream of water just to get my face and hair washed, and in turn end up sneezing for ten minutes from the cold.

In all that badness though, I must report that the hot water is back on and I have since had a nice, LONG shower. Thank little baby jebus for that.

Apparently the hot water was out in the entire building. 30 floors of stinky yuppies!!!

I also was stupid and in my tired haze put dish soap in the dishwasher, thus transforming the dishwasher into a FOAM PARTY SUPPLIER.

I have several towels drying in the dryer, but the floor is nice and clean, so I guess that’s good!

Also, a lightbulb has burnt out in the kitchen already. Should I phone the landlady, or is this just a do-it-yourself kind of thing? I am just debating because really I’ve only been here seven days, so why should I h ave to front the bill?????

Anyhow, it’s 11pm and I have only read 15 pages of Harry Potter, which is pretty lame since I stood in line at midnight to get the damn book!

9 Responses to “It’s pretty tiring living in Vancouver”


  1. 1 Katy July 22, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    I don’t know if the humidity makes it harder to breathe – I am so used to it that I don’t feel it anymore. But I bet it is affecting you, cuz when I go to a higher elevation I faint. Seriously. I’ve passed out somewhere around 30 times in my life. Since I’m (almost) 26, that’s almost once a year! Damn!

    Cold water sucks! When we went to Mexico to visit my father-in-law, we had to take cold showers and I am SUCH a wuss! I made yelping sounds and wanted to cry, lol!

  2. 2 Tjam July 22, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    You make me laugh! The lightbulb is your deal my sweet sister. The landlord will definately start haterating if you call her about a lightbulb. Chalk it up to your electric personality must have drained it. Call me!!!

  3. 3 My Pugs Blogger July 22, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Remember to replace it with a David Suzuki friendly bulb!

    Finished Harry Potter………….

  4. 4 Christine July 23, 2007 at 4:42 am

    I’m on Chapter 13! You’ve got some catching up to do!

  5. 5 LMizzle July 23, 2007 at 6:17 am

    Aaaaahhhh, cool, I bet we will be down near there sometime! My family loooooooves Kelowna and Osoyoos! Actually, the mini golf in Kelowna is pretty choice as well!!!

  6. 6 LMizzle July 23, 2007 at 6:18 am

    Yeah I’m on like, chapter five now? Agh!

  7. 7 Lorkeet July 23, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    If you call the landlady to change your lightbulb I am going to fly out to Vancouver and give you a noogie.

    You can keep the receipt for those types of fixes, but you’d have to check your rental agreement to see who is responsible.

  8. 8 LMizzle July 23, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Yeah I know that’s dumb, but I was just like WTF!!! First no hot water, then the light went and I was like aaaagh!!!!

    Anyhow, I am on the lighbulb task this week. I think the lightbulb was a bigger deal also because I only have six little lights to light the apartment until the rest of the furniture gets here!!!

  9. 9 Princess Pointful July 24, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Vancouver is definitely a heck of a lot faster paced than Calgary!
    Did you get my email re: Ben Harper? And do you like Tori Amos at all? She is coming to town in the winter, and the Duke would likely stab me with a blunt object if I even asked him to go.


Leave a Reply

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

