Things that are pretty great about Canada:

Timbits

A Newfie accent

Will Ferguson

Poutine

MTV Canada

Toques

Chesterfields

Hockey

Rufus Wainwright

David Suzuki

Margaret Atwood

Emily Carr

Pierre Trudeau

Leonard Cohen

Polkaroo

The Friendly Giant

Mr. Dressup

Ginger Beef
Corner Gas

Trailer Park Boys

Wahoo!

13 Responses to “Things that are pretty great about Canada:”


  1. 1 Winston July 3, 2007 at 5:27 am

    I don’t suppose that you could tell me where I might purchase that book entitled “Why I hate Canadians”?

    The Grand Duke

  2. 2 Pug Mommy July 3, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Yay for toques!! When I first moved to the states no one knew what I was talking about when I said toque. They call them toboggans here and do not understand that a toboggan is a sled where I come from.

    GO FLAMES!

  3. 3 Katy July 3, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Whoa, Mr. Dressup looks AWESOME!! And a little creepy.

    Yeah, Canada pretty much rocks. I’m looking forward to living a lot closer so I can take some vacays there.

    GO OILERS!!! Hahaha 🙂

  4. 4 Steve V July 3, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Oh no you ditint say “Go Oilers”!

    j/k

    I cheer for the canucks now.

  5. 5 LMizzle July 3, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    They call toques toboggans???

    A toboggan is a sled! Crazy USA.

  6. 6 LMizzle July 3, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Oh, and Winston, you can get why I hate Canadians from indigo.ca most likely. I would think they’d sell that in the states too though.

    Actually, any book by Will Ferguson is full of essential Canadian humor. I’m reading his book “How to be Canadian” right now and every paragraph has made me laugh.

  7. 7 Princess Pointful July 3, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    So much goodness in one post.

    That poutine looks pretty much orgasmic.

    Remind me to tell you the story of how Mr. Dressup crushed my dreams at 7… very tragic tale.

  8. 8 LMizzle July 3, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Oh no! Not Mr. Dressup.

    Actually, who am I kidding? I got snubbed by Buckshot at Heritage Park one year.

  9. 9 All Mod Cons July 3, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Beanie Hats! YEAH!

  10. 10 psychgrad July 4, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Ginger beef is Canadian? I had no idea.. Awesome post!

  11. 11 LMizzle July 4, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    It’s straight outta Calgary actually! I heard that last Canada Day and was like WTF???

  12. 12 jess-nutt July 5, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Tobaggans are definitely sleds, even way down in the Mid-Atlantic.

    And Poutine is one of the greatest gastronomical creations there are.

  13. 13 Pie! July 5, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    ALSO, along the lines of what comes out of Calgary…the first electronic sliding door in North America was in Calgary. In the old Grand building..

    And perhaps on the more exciting side: caesars were first made in Calgary!


Leave a Reply

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


