Back to the Future of Fashion

I don’t know what it is, but lately I have been really girly. I’ve bought a bunch of dresses and I own heels and blouses. Maybe I’m on some kind of feminine rush of estrogen?
Either way I am in girly overdrive these days, and today I decided was the day to find out if it were actually a world where an extremely pale, let’s call it porcelain-skinned woman like me could wear red lipstick without looking like a cheap hooker.
Since I’m pretty pale (read: GHOSTLY WHITE), I thought maybe I’d be able to get away with it. So I headed down to MAC and while making my other annual makeup purchases, I asked the sales rep to put red lipstick on me to see what I’d look like.
I thought maybe I could channel Dita Von Teese or something, since I love the femininity of the 50s era.

and it actually wasn’t too bad! I didn’t look like a cheap skank, and it didn’t make me want to lunge at the makeup remover. In fact, I kept in on…….

for an hour.

Okay, I’m feeling pretty girly, but I’m thinking there needs to be a pretty serious excuse for me to wear red lipstick. Am I wrong?

Has anyone else out there attempted to try on red lipstick?

I think maybe if I were donning my now stain-free outfit from H&M that I could maybe pull it off……maybe.

11 Responses to “Back to the Future of Fashion”


  1. 1 Winston June 29, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    I kinda “tried” it before. I ate my mommy’s stick (which I managed to pull off the counter, which is an even longer story). Long story short, looks bad on a pug, but tastes like chicken and makes parents panic when ingested\digested.

    The Grand Duke

  2. 2 Steve V June 29, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    well when I tried on red lipstick, it made me feel all pretty

  3. 3 Kbean June 30, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Red lipstick? Not a very good color for me. I go for pink or just some gloss.

  4. 4 The Duke June 30, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Within sounding 100% gay – its all about keeping strong boarders and not applying to many layers. Word up, I am sure you can pull it off. If not, go for black!

    Grrr! Emo makeover!

  5. 5 Katy June 30, 2007 at 1:46 am

    You are so brave. I can’t wear red lipstick at all- I can’t even wear lipstick, I’m such a chicken!

    I only buy lipgloss, yet I will spend like, 10 minutes looking at lipstick and trying to figure out what color to buy but I never do cuz it always looks terrible on me. Good for you for wearing it! Being girly can be nice sometimes🙂

  6. 6 Balboa June 30, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Karen Here:

    They say (or rather I’ve heard) that there is a shade of red lipstick for everyone. The shades I have tried made me look like a cartoon character.

    Do you minde, what shade of red did you try?

    Thanks,🙂

  7. 7 LMizzle June 30, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    I think it was MAC Glam. She said it was the color that Christina Aguilera wears the most often.
    Also, I never buy lipstick because I don’t really wear it either, but I figured if I had a MAC makeup tech right there, that I’d ask her what shade of red would look good. One of the other techs was like, “WOW THAT LOOKS SO GREAT ON YOU!!!” so I kept it on. She said the important thing to remember was that most people are completely shocked when they see themselves in red lipstick for the first time, but to give it some time.
    Doesn’t it seem like some people were just meant to wear it though?!

  8. 8 Lorkeet July 1, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I use to be known for my big, red lips. I didn’t really notice at the time that I wore really red lipstick, but people have said comments over the years about how they will always remember that about me. Hmph. I am now an Origins ‘Once Upon a Shine’ lip gloss in Sheer Passion and Sheer Lilac. Yummy peppermint smell.
    You should defitely wear a dress and your red lipstick next Thursday for t dots b-day outing.

  9. 9 Princess Pointful July 1, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    I don’t usually wear any lipstick at all (perhaps a remaining hangover from the nasty dark brown lipstick I wore when I was in high school), but I like to put on red gloss when I’m feeling dressed up.

    However, I totally think you could pull it off with the right outfit and occasion– it would be a sexy retro thing!

  10. 10 Goodboy Norman Featherstone July 2, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Lipstick tastes bad. I don’t know how you women people wear that junk. I ate some once, and I will never try it again. Yuck. Isn’t it made from whale blubber or something?

  11. 11 Ultra Toast Mosha God July 2, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Only black – when I was doing Eric Draven.

    Sorry


Leave a Reply

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

