Are You KIDDING Me?

Well, I finally got the opportunity to talk to my boss, which was about as easy as attempting to travel to see the Wizard when you’re in completely ridiculous ruby slippers. I should have just walked into her office, clicked my heels, and chanted that there was indeed, no place like home.

We sat down and she talked about receiving my notice and respecting it, but then things took an unexpected turn. She actually looked like she was going to cry. Now, slap me if I’m crazy, but I figured I’d get to see some kind of joyous dance ending in the splits. Luckily I managed to keep my jaw from hitting the floor after seeing her distress at my departure. I can tell you that out of all the confusing and frustrating times at this job, that the half hour I spent talking to her about my departure was the most ridiculous.

She talked about how good I was doing, how proud she was of me, and how she would like to write me a reference letter and help me get a new job.

Uhhhhh….I’m sorry, did I walk into the right office here? Am I dreaming? Come on, there’s got to be a hidden camera somewhere in here.

She even offered to try and help me get a job with the same org. in Vancouver after I told her I was moving. I believe that I had somehow stepped into an alternate reality at that point. I could have pooped myself out of shock.

Then she went into how bad she felt about the age difference between me and the other women here, and how that must have been tough for me.

Naaaah, I love having my arm halfway down into a huge bag of potato chips while everyone else discusses the hidden fats in the crackers they bought. I really do.

Maybe my boss fell off the roof of the shelter and forgot that she was constantly ON MY CASE and criticized me on a regular basis. Maybe she fell on a pile of old rainbows and lollipops and now rides a unicorn to work.

She apologized for being hard on me, and also stated that the job had too many broad expectations, but that she was really happy to have had me in the job.

At this point I pretty much wanted to walk out and tell her to call me when my real boss came back into work.

Either way I guess I have a lead for a job at the same org in Vancouver if I want it, and a letter of recommendation. It’ll probably blow up into fairy dust when I walk out of the building anyway.

5 Responses to “Are You KIDDING Me?”


  1. 1 Ultra Toast Mosha God June 27, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    How odd!

    Take the letter and run.

    ..but read it first. She might be trying to trick you.

  2. 2 Goodboy Norman Featherstone June 27, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I think this might be her time of the month, and she’s feeling all sentimental. So, it sounds like you did ruin her nice long weekend. That’ll teach her!

  3. 3 Mountains June 28, 2007 at 12:00 am

    This has nothing to do with your post, but I just have to tell you – the word Poonami? Which you used in your comment on my blog today? Is one of the funniest words EVER! I plan to use it frequently, as I am struck by a Poonami more often than I’d like to admit. Thanks for making me laugh… I needed it today.

  4. 4 Katy June 28, 2007 at 11:58 am

    A Uni-Pegasus would really be the way to go. I mean, if you’re gonna go all out, you may as well get one that flies!

    What weirdness. I bet she realizes no one else will put up with the crap you did and now she’s terrified on how she’s going to fill your position!

  5. 5 lepug June 28, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    This does confirm you did a great job and you will be missed…for putting up with crap. At least she made it easy on you, it could have been much worst. And since she extented the job referral and letter of rec., hey that sounds pretty decent of her…until you walk out the building.

    Hope all else is going well with the move!


Leave a Reply

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

