D Day

I guess I am not so much dumping, as I am just flat out quitting my job today.

I am pretty terrified of having to quit my first permanent office job. My last office job was a contract, so it was pretty easy to leave on my last day. My last job at the hospital though, was delightful to quit since the boss was ever-absent and a huge tool. I’m sure I’ll feel a nice sense of release when I actually hand the letter over, but I’m pretty intimidated.

I guess it’s just one of those unavoidables in life though. Two o’clock is going to come whether I like it or not (we have a meeting scheduled), and I’m going to have to utter whatever it is that I finally decide to say when I give my notice.

I really don’t know what to say at this point when I walk in there. I am taking Lorkeet’s advice and being just straightforward and to the point, giving no details to her (because, frankly, it’s none of her business).

I’m kind of mad though because I feel like I am giving up, like I am throwing in the towel. I guess I am though. I don’t want to be here anymore, and the work that I feel is so meaningful that this organization does, I don’t really get to be involved with. That’s the disappointing thing about working in fund development. You have to suck up to people for money, but don’t get to see the every day effect that the funds you raise actually has on people.

I have a feeling that I am going to really enjoy my new job. Sure, I took a pay cut to have it, but I really think I’ll enjoy it a lot more because of the people I’ll be working with.

I don’t know what it is about working in an office with all women, but I vow to try my hardest never to work in an office of them again. It’s too catty, too emotional, too full of estrogen-educed hatred for anyone younger than the average.

7 Responses to “D Day”


  1. 1 Princess Pointful June 21, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Good luck!
    I don’t even think you have to make it about the organization, if they ask. Just that you & Steve need a change of scenery and are moving to Vancouver- simple as that!
    Do they seriously have no clue that you are leaving? Did you not need to get a reference from them for your new job?

  2. 2 Manda Girl June 21, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Good Luck!!! Don’t worry, it will all be ok. Afterwards you will feel a huge relief and you can start focusing on the move forward.

  3. 3 Winston June 21, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Hey LMizzle,
    Just say that you would like to spend more time with your family and pursue opportunities that may present themselves in the private sector. That sounds completely original.

    The Grand Duke

  4. 4 LMizzle June 21, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Thanks guys! I have only about 15 min until I am giving notice! eeeek!

    and no, I didn’t need a reference from this job for my new one. The dude went on gut instinct!

  5. 5 Lorkeet June 21, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    It’s funny how quitting jobs always makes us feel like we’re 8 years old and being sent to the princial’s office. My tummy is nervous for you! Let us know how it goes. What am I saying? Of course you will!

  6. 6 Christine June 22, 2007 at 1:30 am

    I hear ya about the all women office thing. One of my student teaching placements was in a school with only one male teacher and the staff chemistry was the worst! Very catty indeed!

    Good luck with quitting!

  7. 7 Deidre June 22, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Last days are a part of life. My last day at my current job is arriving soon. Not too soon.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


