Keeping it classy.

What can I say more than this is probably the most stressful time I’ve ever had to go through!  Moving has generally become a huge pain in the ass as SO MANY landlords have either decided “whoops, I don’t want dogs, I just remembered that,” or they just don’t get back to me at all.

We actually gave up an apartment that I had been approved to rent in a really nice area because we had another really great prospect that looked like it was a sure thing.  That would be the apartment I wrote about in my previous post.  We even had a copy of the lease signed by the agent to the landlord, and then “OOPS!  I DON’T WANT DOGS, even though my craigslist ad said that I didn’t mind.”  Needless to say I was extremely upset by this and wrote a rather upset email to this woman.

Then we caught wind of another apartment.  Brand new, never lived in, in Yaletown.  This woman managed to be convinced of my normalcy by the fact that she was actually on the Board of Directors of the organization that I will be working for in Vancouver.  WHAT ARE THE CHANCES?!  Anyhow, she said that she was going to rent to us, and to have us a lease in no time.

Then she went to see the apartment, and raised the rent $100 a month, and wanted a bigger damage deposit.  She also wanted me to mail her the money without having signed a lease yet, AND without even knowing the ADDRESS of the apartment.

What am I?  Stupid?

Now don’t get me wrong, this woman is actually a real-estate agent whom I have checked up on.  She bought this apartment to use as extra equity.  You’ve got to be flat our crazy though if you send a huge chunk of money out to BC without ever having even signed anything ensuring that you will get an apartment in return for sending cheques.

I understand that there are going to be trust issues on both sides, but I am really starting to feel like this is more a case of “guilty until proven innocent” instead of the other way around.

I realize people can get burned on stuff like this, but when I offer you the phone number of the new boss, whom you can actually go and SEE in person, I would say that it’s probably a good indication that I am being legitimate.

Being at the whim of someone else is the worst thing in the world.  I can’t wait to actually BUY property someday so that I don’t have to deal with stuff like this ever again. 

And also, I’m sure it’s been said again and again, but what the hell do people have against dogs?!  I can’t believe the number of people who don’t want dogs, but will take cats.  Not that I don’t love cats, but come on, my dogs are trained to go to the bathroom in a litter box, so essentially they are exactly the same as a cat—they just bark sometimes instead of meow.

I get that people would be worried to rent to someone with a large dog, but when it’s a dog that is 13″ high?  Come on!  Seriously, if they could actually meet these dogs they would be in puppy heaven I’m sure.

I’m pretty sure the stress of this moving crap combined with my job made me really ill last week, but luckily there are only 3 weeks left of work!  I resign on Thursday!  Yikes!  Has anyone out there resigned from a real job like this before?  I don’t know how much or how little to tell the boss!

“Yeah, it’s just not working for me, so here’s my two weeks.”

“You guys treat me like crap and frankly, I am sick of it and I quit.”

“I can’t work for someone who can’t decipher the difference between ‘your’ and ‘you’re’ when writing mass emails.  I’m out of here!”

 

I think those are all pretty classy remarks, no?

8 Responses to “Keeping it classy.”


  1. 1 Katy June 18, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    I HATE when people don’t know when to use “your” and “you’re”! I mean, I’m sure I’ve probably made the mistake before, but it’s because I’m not paying attention to what I’m actually writing or something.

    I also hate when people don’t know when to use apostrophes. Like: “How many pug’s do you have?”. AGGHHH!

    That sucks about the apartment situation. I don’t know what the problem is with having dogs. It’s like, if you’RE giving them a huge deposit, that should be enough. There’s nothing Suki could do that $1000 couldn’t cover, you know?

  2. 2 LMizzle June 18, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Yeah, for sure. It’s not like Winston is going to host some kind of twelve month long bender where he rips off all the cupboards and takes a poop off the balcony every day!

    I just want to say “Lady, listen. If my dogs actually manage to break all hell loose in this place, I will pay for it.”

  3. 3 Princess Pointful June 18, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    I’m still in awe of the “oops I forgot I don’t want dogs” thing– you signed a lease! Did it have something about the pets in it?
    And what is going on with the new apartment? If I’m right, it’s still cheaper than the first one, right? It may be worth it to just book a quick flight out here one weekend to take a look and get the paperwork done…

  4. 4 Lorkeet June 18, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Re giving your notice:
    1. put it in writing
    2. make it short and to the point; say you are tendering your resignation and state what date it is effective.
    3. don’t offer reasons or explanations. They can ask you why, but you aren’t obligated to answer. Being that you have decided to move to Vancouver, it should be obvious.

  5. 5 Katy June 18, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Poops off the balcony! LOL! Oh my god, that cracked me up!

  6. 6 LMizzle June 18, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I should just poop in front of my supervisor’s door. I think she’d get the point, don’t you?

  7. 7 Ultra Toast Mosha God June 19, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Go to your supervisor, then list the three options you gave her. Announce that you chose number two, because it has a double meaning.

    When the boss says ‘What’s that then?’, curl one out on the desk.

    Boomshackalack!

  8. 8 LMizzle June 19, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    HAHAH, you always have the best ideas.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


