On having my mouth assaulted.

Ah yes friends, I am sitting at my desk with half of a frozen head after spending an hour and a half getting some cavities filled.  As if it’s not awesome enough to even HAVE cavities, I get to sit around not being able to drink or really eat for the next hour as well! Luckily it’s all for the best, and I will be enjoying some delicious nachos later tonight while I watch Johnny Depp prance around in the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie!

I have to say that frankly, this is the most wonderful dentist I’ve ever had.  She’s fast, does really excellent work, and is really nice to boot!  Thank goodness for that because if I had to have a crappy dentist for all of my cavities, I’d probably poop my pants and pass out.

I currently look like I have received a really terrible Botox injection as I can only muster a half smile.  I’m frozen up to my eyelid!  It’s always weird touching your face when it’s frozen like that because for the first time you get a sense of how it feels to touch your face from someone else’s point of view.  It’s very strange.

Actually, the only really bad thing about this is that I can’t drink anything because there are no straws here.  Oh how I am lustfully glancing at my delicious kiwi strawberry beverage….when will I finally get to CONSUME YOU??!??!

On sort of the same topic, I was talking to a co-worker about teeth.  She noted that she thinks it’s entirely all too useless to have such weak teeth.  Why do humans have to go through all of this dentistry if animals don’t?  You don’t see a deer walking around filling other deer’s teeth, right?

Then she said that she thought it was silly to brush a dog’s teeth since they are animals.

I come from the place where I, personally think that it will save you money in the long run if you brush your dog’s teeth.  They get cavities too!  Plus, humans eat a lot more crap, and live a hell of a lot longer than other beings.  Yeah, some or all of our teeth will eventually drop out, but I think we do pretty good for how long we generally live!

You don’t see a deer complaining about a toothache or cavity for one, because it doesn’t know it has a cavity, two, a deer can’t complain in English or any language for that matter, and three, a deer doesn’t get to eat candy, or drink pop or lattes, or eat delicious, delicious nachos.

If there is a deer out there like that, I’d like to meet them because that would be pretty great.

8 Responses to “On having my mouth assaulted.”


  1. 1 Steve V May 25, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    I’ll be home late from work.
    I’m going to the woods to feed a deer some nachos.

  2. 2 LMizzle May 25, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Haha, TAKE ME WITH YOU!!!

    Wait, we should go to Glenmore park and try to feed that angry black bear some nachos.

  3. 3 Manda Girl May 25, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    Bears love nachos!

    So, you should tell you co-worker to go and work with one of those non-profit dental groups that travel to third world countries to help give any aid that they can to people. A lady I worked with did that for 3 weeks (her friend is a hygenist and she went as a “helper”) and she was shocked at how bad these people’s mouths were and HOW MUCH PAIN THEY WERE IN ALL THE TIME!! They can’t afford to do anything to brush their teeth (and they aren’t eating nachos or latte’s or scary chinses candies) and they literally had holes through their teeth, with the nerves exposed and constant pain. They were only able to pull one tooth per person, so if they had several teeth that were rotting in their skulls they had to chose the one that hurt the most to get pulled.

    I know dogs that can’t eat because their teeth are so bad/rotten and dogs that have had to have several pulled and then had to eat soft food for the rest of their lives because no one took care of their teeth.

    Man, did I ever go on a rant or what! Sorry…. I’m totally whacked out on cold medicine…and I don’t even know if this makes sense or pertains to what you wrote. BUT STILL!!

    I hope your mouth feels better soon!

  4. 4 lepug May 25, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Back when oral hygiene was not practiced, people also did not live as long! Some believe your health starts with your hygiene. Many dogs with poor oral hygiene end up with very expensive dental surgery when they are older or even more fatal problems. An infection in the mouth from gum disease can lead to other more fatal and costly problems. Please brush your teeth…humans and dogs! 🙂

    The fresh breath alone is worth the work!

  5. 5 Lorkeet May 25, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    AHHHHH! I’m sitting here with a frozen face too! I had a crown replaced this morning. Hopefully this is the conclusion of my 3+ month dentist appointment. I had my initial appointment on Feb. 13, had to go back four, count ’em, four times to get the crown “adjusted” and I finally said enough. If replacing the problem crown doesn’t do the trick this time they are going to do a root canal. boo hiss. Don’t even get me started on how much dental work costs. Even with a decent insurance plan it still sucks to pay over a thousand dollars for pain and discomfort. Just plain ol’ wrong. I long for the good ol’ days when you’d just have your teeth pulled in your 20’s and get a set of dentures….

  6. 6 LMizzle May 25, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Manda: yes that made sense! I’m sure it would be horrid to have to deal with so much pain, especially with MY kind of teeth. Did you know that african americans have the least cavities? I have no idea why, but I read it on wikipedia. Apparently chinese and latin people have the worst for some reason…maybe I am actually chinese or something…

    LePug: You make a good point for sure! I told her that and she kind of blew it off, wondering why if we live longer, why our teeth can’t last longer too.

    I think people are just used to brushing once a day and then having that be it. I know a crapload of people likely don’t floss, that’s for sure!

  7. 7 Katy May 25, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    I know I have at least one cavity and I keep putting off going to get it taken care of, mainly because I don’t have a designated dentist, so that means I have to look for one that takes my crappy insurance.

    Sometimes I get so goddamn tired of life, what with insurance, doctors, cavities and bills, that I just want to go build a little house in the woods and live there forever. But I think I’d miss my laptop.

  8. 8 Princess Pointful May 25, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Everyone likes nacho cheese.
    Even platypuses.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

