A Bad Case of the Walkies – Day 3

After thinking about things, I decided that I would attempt to use a bribe to get the dogs to listen.  They’re pretty good without treats most of the time, but walkies is probably the thing they are the worst at, so I had to bring out the big guns for this.

I started by putting on their harnesses, which always gets them going insane.  I first just tried Winston, but Zelda wanted in on the action, so I put them both in their gear. Slowly but surely I was able to open our apartment door all the way into the hall without a big fuss.  They sat and stayed.  Well, Winston stayed…Zelda hasn’t learned stay really well yet, so she would scoot on her butt a few inches to be closer to me, but still remain in sit.  It’s sneaky, and it’s cute.

The real issue is the front door.  They just go INSANE when I get there.  What I’m really trying to do is to get them to sit while I open the door, not only for manners, but because it’s also safer this way too. 

After a half hour they were doing pretty well, so I let them walk out the door.

MISTAKE!!!

Winston did his usual HUGE tug and started barking the hell out himself at who knows what.  Well, back in the house he went.  You should have seen his face when he got put inside and Zelda didn’t!!  The horror of it all!

Zelda was being an excellent puppy, so I took her a few steps, and she was still okay.  We made it around the whole block!  What a trooper!

Winston was pretty upset though, as he snuggled me and sucked up profusely upon my return.

Tonight I am going to try to get Winston out the door without a battle royale!

3 Responses to “A Bad Case of the Walkies – Day 3”


  1. 1 Katy May 17, 2007 at 1:45 am

    Sounds like Zelda’s got it down! Woo-hoo!

    Suki goes out the door barking sometimes, too. I have no idea what the hell she is doing, and she barks at stupid crap like plastic bags and pieces of paper and whatnot.

  2. 2 Goodboy Norman Featherstone May 17, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Wow! Zelda is trainable! I didn’t think Pugs were trainable. She’s also one of the cutest Pugs ever. I thought as the cute factor went up, the trainability went down. I guess I need to go back to school to figure this one out. Maybe it’s a girl thing.

  3. 3 Duke & Gidget May 17, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Winston and Zelda sound a lot like us. We go totally insane when that door opens up too. Sometimes our neighbors even come running out of their houses cuz they think a giant dogfight is going on. Yep, that’s what we call good times!


Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

