A bad case of the walkies, day 2

So my obedience teacher told me that to get Winston and Zelda to have good manners on walkies that we should invest a lot of time in teaching them that it’s wrong to pull or generally be a jerk. SOOOOO, as of yesterday I’ve been putting their harnesses on, and then as soon as the puppies start acting like jerks, I take off the harnesses and then go and sit down and don’t even look at them. That way, they’ll be like, “huh?!” and eventually catch on that it’s bad to pull, bark, etc.
Yesterday I couldn’t even get the door open!
Today we made a little bit of headway, and I managed to get the door open a little bit, but again, the excitement got to them, so no walkies.
I was debating for a long time whether I should do this or not, but I’d rather have a month of crappy walkies, than a lifetime of pulling and barking!

Hopefully they learn quickly though!!!

6 Responses to “A bad case of the walkies, day 2”


  1. 1 lepug May 15, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Not to say Porky & Brownie are great at it but I do believe what Dog Whisperer says about walking nicely on a leash. You have to walk ahead and they need to be behind since you are the pack leader. Both Puggies walk behind their Dad and don’t pull on the leash at all. When I walk them, they like to pull but usually, I keep the lead short and stop when they pull. Once they stop pulling, I go. Also, I wear sneakers when I take them for a walk. This way I can out run them and always be ahead of them. Once they see you as pack leader, they will walk behind you and not pull you. I do think it’s important to spend time training them, but more outside on an actual walk (Cesar’s tips on Dog Whisperer have been awesome). Some Pugs are just stubborn and don’t get it so I am not sure if they quite understand why you don’t take them out. Dog Whisperer has really helped us so I would suggest watching that and taking Winston & Zelda out for a nice walk. Good luck!

  2. 2 LMizzle May 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Ah yes, I have his DVD season one and his book! I have used a lot of his tricks actually, and they’ve all worked. I just thought I would use this method and see what happens. I can see that Winston gets it, but Zelda is pretty passive. She basically only gets that excited when he does! They’ll stay at the door if they don’t have their harnesses on, but they will go into crazy mode when the harnesses are on, it’s odd!

  3. 3 Katy May 16, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Suki’s trainer told me to just stop when she pulled and start walking again after a minute when she’s calm, but hell, that never worked!

    If lepug’s idea about walking in front of them doesn’t work, you should try that easy walk harness thing. It’s kind of weird, but it has stopped her pulling.

  4. 4 Goodboy Norman Featherstone May 16, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I am such a jerk on the leash. The Woman has tried everything to get me to stop being a jerk on the leash, but it hasn’t worked. I do what I want! Maybe Winston and Zelda can be trained though. I however, cannot. Good luck! Don’t let them read this post!

  5. 5 Ultra Toast Mosha God May 16, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    I agree totally.

    Have patience. It will reap rewards.

  6. 6 Ronin_The_Pug May 16, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Oh LMizzle you should see Ronin when we go outside! He acts like a maniac when we leave our building; after 5 minutes he starts to act a little bit normal; and when we come back home the circus begins again.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

