I wonder…

Ah yes, after much contemplation I am again having a dilemma. 

Perhaps you can help, yes?

 

When it comes right down to it, should I really bother investing in a really good couch right now, or should I purchase perhaps a less fantastic one since my dogs are still puppies?

 

I can get a couch that is absolutely gorgeous, and made to my specs for around $1,000.  That, or I can buy a couch from Ikea for around $450.  The couch that’s $450 is one that was used in a display, so it’s an extra good deal.  It’s got a slipcover, so I can eventually buy another cover if the dogs puke on it or something. 

With the fancy couch, it’s apparently got fabric that is “great for pets”, which means it’s pretty stain resistant. 

The couch that I bought from Ikea a year and a half ago is getting pretty bad.  I’ve had to take the cushion covers off so many times that the stitching is coming undone on the bottom of one of them!  Blech!  However, this wasn’t a couch that had a real slip cover on it, so it wore down faster than normal.

This is a pretty domestic problem, but if anyone has advice, it would be appreciated!

6 Responses to “I wonder…”


  1. 1 Katy May 14, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Hmmm…if you buy the cheaper couch, it may not last as long and you’ll be throwing $ away, $ you could have put towards the nicer couch.

    However, if you get the more expensive couch, how well will it really repel stains? How about bite marks?

    That’s a tough one. My husband would say not to waste your $ and get the more expensive one, but I would say get the cheaper one and wait a couple years till they’re not puppies anymore and then get a really nice one πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Princess Pointful May 14, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Or an in-between one that is reasonably stain-resistant but not quite Ikea.
    I got a nice couch from the Brick for 600-700, which includes a reasonable warranty. While the bulk of my furniture is Ikea, I found that their couches weren’t quite up to snuff, hence the little bonus investment.
    If not, I would say get the better couch with extra stain treatment and maybe a cover.

  3. 3 lepug May 15, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Just get the nicer one but make sure to spray bitter melon on the legs and anywhere the puppies may be able to chew.
    Of course, don’t buy anything that may upset you if the Puggies kill it.

  4. 4 Missmalice May 15, 2007 at 10:13 am

    All depends on how it amortizes. Say, the IKEA couch at 450 lasts 2years (let’s be generous). The fancy couch lasts 5 years at 1000 (it should last at least 8!). Anyways, the Ikea one works out to 225 a year. The fancy one at 200 a year (or whatever they say it should last and what you think reasonable). If the fabric is teflon coated or scotch guard or whatever, then pug juice etc on it should come off. If however they are going to scratch it up, then you need to factor that it. Still, it would seem to me the more expensive one, so long as it lasts you more than 5 years before you need to change again, is probably the better bet. It costs (relatively) not that much different and it will be more visually pleasing to boot!

  5. 5 LMizzle May 15, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    So true Miss Malice. They don’t actually chew on the couch at all, it’s that they have both barfed on the couch that I have now by accident! The ikea couch that I was thinking of buying has a slipcover to it, and so if the fabric gets crappy, I can change it. Maybe I’ll call the other place with the more expensive couches and see if there’s some kind of coating on the couch…

  6. 6 The Duke May 16, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Wait until you move and then buy it. They have lots of snazzy furniture stores here.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

