Paper Stalker!

Agh! Why are people so crazy?!
I am in charge of developing a newsletter for my organization since we’ve never had one before, and a few weeks ago I got a quote from our normal printing company on the price of printing a whole crapload of newsletters. All was well, OR SO I THOUGHT!
Somehow, out of the blue, this random old guy who owns a printing company calls me and asks if I’d like a quote on some printing.
“I might be able to send you some information on that,” I tell him, because I don’t know if we go through a major printing company.
I then ask uor Marketing Director, and yes, we already have a printer, and I should tell him thanks, but no thanks.
Tuedsay comes and he calls about TEN TIMES ( I don’t answer because I am trying to think of a nice way to let him down) and won’t just LET IT GO that I didn’t email him.
Then today one of the Admin Assistants comes into my office and is like, “Mr. so-and-so is here to see you from the ____ Printing Company.”
WHAT?!?!
I emailed this guy yesterday saying, thanks, but we actually already have a printing company, so his services aren’t needed.
THEN HE SHOWS UP AT MY OFFICE!
I DON’T WANT YOUR PAPER PRODUCTS!!!!

LEAVE ME ALONE AAAAAAAAHHHHHH!

I thought that once you say no to someone, that it meant, hey, I appreciate your office, but I’ll pass. I didn’t think it meant, “COME ON DOWN TO MY OFFICE AND TRY TO CONVINCE ME THAT YOUR PAPER IS SOMEHOW SUPERIOR TO ANYONE ELSE’S!!!”

WHAT. THE. HELL.

So I just had to stand around and let him schpiel about how bitchin’ his prices were and how we can keep the other company we use “honest” by telling them that we might switch printing companies.

Little did I know that the world of printing was like a covert op. out of a James Bond movie.

11 Responses to “Paper Stalker!”


  1. 1 Manda Girl May 2, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Dude – that’s crazy!!! Why does he have to be so pushy! I hate when you have to confront someone like that and say “No”.

    Maybe you should have treated him like Cesar Milan would have – just poke him in the side while going – ttsttt and ignore him. Maybe he would have stopped then and went away?

  2. 2 Pug Mommy May 2, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    What a psycho! I have found that not answering the phone and not returning their calls does not phase these people. They must be used to it and now it only makes them stonger. I also hate sitting there and listening to them when there is no way you are ever going to use the service or order anything from them. There is no way I could do sales.

  3. 3 John May 2, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    I used to do IT recruitment, you’d be surprised at the things people do. Sales targets and management are evil evil things. Never again will I lower myself to such levels.

    You were really nice to him though, so congrats must go to you on that front!

  4. 4 Ronin_The_Pug May 3, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Crazy I tell you! Some people would do everything to sell their product or service.

  5. 5 Ultra Toast Mosha God May 3, 2007 at 8:18 am

    How awkward.

    There was a guy in here yesterday trying to sell my boss a chair.

    I have never seen anyone selling anything in this office before

  6. 6 Ultra Toast Mosha God May 3, 2007 at 8:19 am

    p.s – I’m going to ask for a Calgary Redeye at the bar tonight and enjoy the look on the bartenders face.

  7. 7 Goodboy Norman Featherstone May 3, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    So what was the outcome? Is he still stalking you?

  8. 8 Christine May 3, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I would have hidden in the bathroom until he left.

    I am horrible at telling people no and letting them down. Telemarketers walk all over me. (Thank god for call display.) But if someone showed up in person..! I’d be screwed!

  9. 9 LMizzle May 3, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Yeah I was arguing with the admin assistant saying, “I don’t wanna talk to him! He’s crazy!!!” but neither did she, so eventually I had to go out there with a big smile.
    I think I might be able to handle people like this after having worked at a video store as a teenager. People go absolutely APESHIT over late fees, like we’re talking threatening people with death (remember the good times, Duke?)

  10. 10 Christine May 4, 2007 at 12:55 am

    I worked in a video store too and you are so right about the late fees. People will try ANYTHING to get out of them!

    I also worked as a front end supervisor at a large chain craft store and the psycho customers I got to deal with there were real special too. Don’t mess with knitters man!

  11. 11 LMizzle May 4, 2007 at 4:51 am

    Seriously?! Man, actually I can see that. It’s crazy just how CRAZY people can be. I once saw a grown man almost cry because he got an iced mocha instead of a mocha frappuccino.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

