White Flag!

Okay, well, while I am home today again, I felt it is time to fess up.
I am not a big fan of my occupation.
I was somewhat thrust into an area of nonprofit that I didn’t want to be. This is the area of nonprofit that clearly has people making the most money, but I am not having any fun.
With Vancouver on the horizon (96 days!) I am seriously considering what I want to do for a profession. The nonprofit sector is pretty enormous out there, so there are a range of jobs available. All I know is, when it comes down to it, money is not my top priority. I have some breathing room as far as that goes, which is nice. What I would like is, if I have to be at a desk all day, I want to actually be DOING SOMETHING ALL DAY. I like being busy, it makes me feel like I am actually being productive. I am willing to seriously take a job that has more to do, and pays up to $15,000 less if I won’t have to think about ripping my hair out of my head just for something to do.
I am even willing to step out of the sector for this.
With the Olympics coming in a few years, I could probably do something for the Olympic committee in Vancouver, and since I’m the first in my faculty to move out there, I have a good case. Maybe the Vancouver Aquarium? I think I would really love an animal rescue organization as well. BCSPCA? Love love love. Who knows, I might even end up working at a doggie hotel.
I just want to feel productive!!!! Agh.
All I know is, I don’t want to crawl out of bed every day to a job I hate.
Anyone else feel like this?

8 Responses to “White Flag!”


  1. 1 Steve V April 26, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    I like my job 🙂

  2. 2 lepug April 26, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    We love our job! Mom quit her Corporate job to start FunnyFur.com and since then, we have never looked back. We are Spokesdoggies for FunnyFur.com which comes with clothing allowance, treats, toys, and everything a dog could want. Did we mention we go to work everyday with Mom and run the office? We sleep under Mom’s desk and when we feel like it, everyone at the office gives us treats, rubs, kisses, etc…we love it!

    Porky & Brownie

  3. 3 LMizzle April 26, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    You know, I would like to start something like that someday, would you mind if I emailed you about it??

  4. 4 Manda Girl April 27, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Yeah – I totally feel your pain. Working for lawyers can sometimes be very degrading on the soul.

    Something will come up – you’re too smart a cookie to just sit back and do nothing for too long. That would be sooooooo awesome to work at the aquarium or with the olympics! So many options!

  5. 5 Princess Pointful April 27, 2007 at 7:40 am

    I think we’ve all been here before, but what’s important is that you are actually taking steps to change it. Vancouver will bring good things- I can smell it (and, no, it doesn’t smell like Steve!).

  6. 6 LMizzle April 27, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    I don’t think anything could match Steve….well…maybe the dogs…

  7. 7 Katy April 27, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    I think work in general just sucks. Sure, there may be that one dream job, but I would much rather not work and just dedicate myself to volunteering for good causes, ya know? Unfortunately, I have a ton of bills, so that’s not going to happen…

  8. 8 Christine April 30, 2007 at 6:04 am

    i don’t like my job either 😦


Leave a Reply

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


