History of the Disenchanted

Well, here we are, back at Monday. Another day, another dollar, eh? For some it’s still a holiday. I wish I were that lump of people! Long weekends are never long enough it would seem. Though I’m sure a month off wouldn’t seem long enough if I had it.
The more I think about Vancouver, the more I think I’m going to really enjoy the chance for change. My mother is very persistent in reminding me just how much money I am making for my age when I talk about Vancouver. We are from two different schools of thought on this one I’m afraid. She is from the school of “money will buy me everything I need to be happy, and powerful.” I am from the Beatles school of thought because money can’t buy me love, baby! I have really thought long and hard about it. Yes, if I stay where I am I know that I could likely buy a car by the end of the year, but I have a car that I like, even if it’s 12 years old. It suits me just fine…though…okay, a Toyota Yaris would be nice…but I digress! I know that I make a LOT of money for how old I am, but the short of it is that I am willing to work for up to $20,000 LESS a year to know that I wouldn’t absolutely dread going to my job every day. I have come up with the $20,000 window because right now I am putting about 75% of every paycheque I have onto my debt, so I really am not getting a great deal of enjoyment out of the stupid amount of money I get. I pretty much spend the other 25% on retirement savings, the dogs, and those staples of rent and food. Sh!t happens though, and here and there another $600 or $1000 bill comes my way (like this weekend with my brakes!) and I’m back in the hole. By the time August comes around, I will be gone and never have really known the true taste of my prosperity….but I WILL, be completely out of the hole.
I am looking for a change of my quality of life. I find people my age to be in several different life spaces…whether that be just hanging out, or married, or going to school. There’s no constant. I’ve only met one other couple who have a lifestyle like mine. ONLY ONE! They really are one in a million or so people who live in my city. WHERE ARE ALL THE YUPPIES (young, urban professionals)?!
I can’t say that another city will hold anything better on that front, but hey, at least if I am bored I can go to the beach, the mountains, shopping, and walk the dogs all in one day!
I have thought it though, and really, if I find a position out there that doesn’t have anything to do with my degree, but I enjoy it, I am going to take it over a job in my field. I am lately so disenchanted with the sector in which I work. All the veils are gone and I am left with a very fractured, somewhat shady picture of what I thought was really selfless work.
But that post, is for another day (or hour, we’ll see how I feel tonight!).

7 Responses to “History of the Disenchanted”


  1. 1 Katy April 9, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I agree with you. It’s not about $ (although that does help take some stress off) but about your quality of life.
    We are moving to OR. as soon as we sell our house (I know I’ve mentioned it like, a million times!) and everyone says “What are you going to do for work? Aren’t you scared?” And I think, what are we doing that’s so great here? NOTHING! We make a decent amount, but we are so in debt that we can barely pay our bills, so what kind of a life is that?

    I say, go to Vancouver. It’s a beautiful city and you’ll make it if you really want to🙂

  2. 2 John April 9, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Hey! Totally off the track of your post…but you’ve been “Awarded” & Tagged. Just thought you should know and the baton has now been passed!

  3. 3 LMizzle April 9, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Excellent!

  4. 4 Manda Girl April 10, 2007 at 12:09 am

    I totally think that it would be worth it if you are enjoying life more (although I can’t imagine how you would if there is no pugsters and no us…kidding!)
    and you can’t predict what kind of job you will find or how much money you might make.

    No matter how much money you make you can always come up with new expenses that puts you further in debt or with less cash to spend. You will always adjust to how you want to live.

    and – then when we come out to van we will have the coolest couple to hang out with and to show us the town!

  5. 5 Steve V April 10, 2007 at 12:46 am

    We’re gunna have a much better time in Vancouver than here in Cowtown

  6. 6 Princess Pointful April 10, 2007 at 4:52 am

    This reminds me, on a smaller scale, of a conversation I had several times with a fellow who used to share my apartment with (I am so subtle!).

    I desperately wanted to move out of the suburbs.

    He didn’t understand why we would pay a few extra hundred in rent for the same place in a better neighbourhood.

    To me, enjoying my neighbourhood and having it feel like home, and liking what I see when I walk out my front door is worth at least that much.

    It seems like becoming re-enchanted with your life is worth a few thousand.

  7. 7 Ultra Toast Mosha God April 10, 2007 at 9:43 am

    A change is as good as a rest, right?


Leave a Reply

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

