A Tale of Two Pugs

I don’t know what it is about pugs, but they just seem to bring something really special to life. It might just be me and Steve, but does anyone else get extremely excited when they see a pug passing by them? I can’t explain the automatic reaction I have, but whether I’m driving, or walking to the corner store, if I see a pug, I go absolutely bonkers with love and admiration for the dog. Any time I see a pug when I’m driving, I am compelled (but never do) to pull over and ask the person walking it what they dog is like, does it do the classic “woowoo” bark? Does it have stinky farts too?! Do you love this breed as much as I do?!?!
Steve and I have been out walking about when we’ve spotted pugs before, and we always make sure to say hello and have a good pet. Most of the time, I find pug parents to be very kind people. It is a rarity to find a pug owner who doesn’t want to share their dog with the entire world. When I come across someone like that, I just marvel at the fact that they look uncomfortable with someone trying to make conversation about their dog…
I guess for me, having a dog is like having this key to a world full of really friendly people. Winston and Zelda often enjoy a good scruffy petting from a passer by, and I’m sure they’ve come to expect the “awwww” noises at their adorableness and the excited exclamations of, “Look! It’s a PUG!” that is often heard on our “walkies.”
Really I think Zelda and Winston’s egos’ get a little deflated when someone walks by them without making a remark. Such is the life of a pug.
I can’t express enough though, how much these two little dogs mean to me. They have brought nothing but happiness to my life. I wake up in the morning to two excited little smushy-faced puppies who I adore. We play for a bit, I feed them, and it’s off to work. When I get home I am overjoyed by the fact that these two little creatures are absolutely ecstatic to see me home. Hell, even when I come upstairs from the laundry room, they get a serious case of wiggles and give little puppy kisses as if to say, “Oh my gosh! I thought you were NEVER coming back!”
I absolutely adore these pugs, and all pugs. I remember that until I had them that I didn’t really know what to do with dogs. It was like they were this really foreign being that came from another planet. Luckily all that changed when Steve and I had to rescue a dog that was abandoned in our back yard. Sadly, we couldn’t keep the particular dog that was dropped off in the night, but it sparked something inside of us that made us wonder if we would be good parents to a dog.
I remember picking up Winston…driving for hours to get him, and meeting the wonderfully kind woman who bred him. I remember walking into their garage/pug mommy care centre and seeing a flood of tiny little piggy-faced beings cover my legs with little paws and kisses. I remember seeing the little marshmallow of wrinkles that would be the first dog I would own. I was instantly in love.
And I remember picking up Zelda. Not a long drive, but seeing her tiny two pound sleepy self being carried to me by a young relative of the breeder…she was so little! We were floored that this little button of a dog was going to get to come home with us.
Needless to say they are growing up to be wonderful little creatures with the most loving and forgiving personalities I’ve ever seen.
I guess I should say a thank you to the person who left their dog in our back yard. Even though we couldn’t save that particular dog, I am forever grateful that they sparked the idea to adopt a dog in the first place. It truly changed my life.

8 Responses to “A Tale of Two Pugs”


  1. 1 Katy March 29, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    That’s the sweetest story. I agree, there’s just something about pugs, although I have a soft spot for mutts.

    Yes, Suki does the classic “woowoo” bark and her farts are TERRIBLE. It’s like they burn your nostrils or something. Echhh.

  2. 2 Lorkeet March 29, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    It’s not just you. I think most dog owner’s love dogs and have a special place in their hearts for the breed they own. For me? I’m a Lab-lover. All Lab’s, all the time. Your Pugs are adorable and hilarious, but for me I think I’ll always have a Lab in my life.

    When I got Chloe it changed my life. I think the unconditional love dogs give us is something every human should experience. They have programs in prisons where inmates are used to train service dogs and these programs are a resounding success. It gives the prisoners a purpose and a long lost sense of empathy for another breathing being. I’m also a big believer that people with depression should own a dog. It forces them to get up and moving and exercise is a sure fire way to lessen your symptoms.

    Since I own a Lab, I am going out at lunch to buy the FURMINATOR! It sounds great!

  3. 3 nat March 29, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    I am the same way when I see other pugs on the street. I get so excited. Since I had to wait patiently to get a pug of my own, I used to run up to other pug-owners with such excitement that I would sometimes scare them! I am so happy to be able to care for one of my very own. And yes, I love the breed as much as you with their wiggles and grunts. And yes, Olive does have stinky farts too!

  4. 4 Princess Pointful March 29, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    🙂
    This post made me happy.
    Ever since I met Daisy, I’ve been like that. I squeal “Look, a puggly!” to whoever is with me when I see a pug, and watch their every move intently. I love their silly little mannerisms.
    I wish I had a pet😦

    PS. Sorry I haven’t been in contact yet again. I’m done this semester in about a week and a half, so hopefully I will be fun again soon!

  5. 5 LMizzle March 29, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Haha, you are funny. Good luck with end of semester stuff!

  6. 6 Jessica March 30, 2007 at 2:49 am

    I’m new to this whole blog thing🙂 However, I just wanted to say how much I loved your story. We have a pug, Pancho, and there is a special relationship that we share with Pancho.

  7. 7 Anonymous March 30, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I feel exactly like you do! Lola has the woo woo woo and I’ve got one word for the other…acidophilus (it REALLY helps). I can tell what Lola’s doing by the sounds she’s making. Right now, light snore, means she hasn’t been asleep too long but plans to. Aren’t they the best?
    Love,
    Kelly

  8. 8 Noelle July 8, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    My hubby and I have two pugs Seymour & Gizmo, and I know exactly what you are talking about too! Seymour does the woowoo bark..Gizmo is kinda shy and just does a “grrrufff…..grrrrufff” then stares at me and lets out a funny sounding whimper,lol. They both TACKLE me when I get home, and even though it’s pretty painful, I still get down on the ground with them and play with them. We love them so much, they are so spoiled that I don’t think we will even be able to have children because they’d get way too jealous.🙂


Leave a Reply

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

