Sofa, be still my heart!

Well, I really meant to do a super sweet post last night, but the evening got away from me. I was cleaning stuff up again for our landlord to come in and do an “inspection” again, which is really her coming in with two people doing an appraisal on the house. I wonder if Winston will poop and run away from her like he did last week? He’s so brave, right? Well, I guess poop would scare some people…

So this morning I got out to my car and noticed that some jerk backed into me and didn’t leave a note. I’ve been in a hit and run!!! The dink actually left a fist-sized dent in my trunk, but somehow missed the bumper, which is odd. I’m thinking it was maybe a truck? I call my mom to tell her and she informs me that I need to report it to the police so that I can get a sticker that says that I have reported the accident, and that I’m allowed to fix it. Did anyone know they had to do this?! Apparently it’s only for damage over $1000, or if you’ve been in a hit-and-run. I went back to my car when I got to work just to make sure my trunk still opened (if it didn’t, my costs would be over $1000!), and LUCKILY it did, so I’m not too mad. I just don’t get people. What is wrong with our society?! It’s like if we think we can get away with it, we’ll try. If you get caught in a situation like this though, you’re totally up the creek for actually leaving the scene. Ugh, some people…

On a more domestic note, I have recently fallen in love with a sofa. It’s a gorgeous red sofa from La-z-boy, and it’s just about the most comfortable thing you could ever sit on. I’m not even kidding. I wanted to just fall asleep in the mall. Now, I need some domestic advice. My current couch is from Ikea, and has lasted OK, but after a year, it’s starting to look worn out. That’s okay, because it was a sale couch and I paid $300 for it. Sweet deal. This lovely new couch I saw costs $899, and has a lifetime warranty on it, and is actually on sale for $899, down from $1799!!! Are you kidding me?! That is totally 50% off! I am curious though…does anyone agree that this is a sign that the couch and I were meant to be? I’m thinking if it’s that huge of a deal, that I should put a deposit on it. A deposit is only $250, and I can actually take as long as I want to purchase it. That means, if I want to take until August to buy it, I can still get the sale price and we’ll have a new couch for August when we move!

Actually, the more I write about it, the more I think it’s pretty clear I should buy the couch. Does anyone agree that this is a good price for a couch? Am I just stupid and this is really not a deal at all? I mean, it’s got a lifetime warranty on the thing, and I think you have access to an upholstery tech. or something if you spill on the couch too.

This compared to my $300 blue sofa that the dogs have peed on, as well as dropped things like Pepsi, Tim Horton’s mocha, pizza, chocolate, and other wonderfully terrible items on it. The seat cushions have faded from being in the wash so many times. Let it be known that I have learned my lesson and don’t keep food on the coffee tables anymore!

I’ll post a photo of the couch later, and let me know what you think!

9 Responses to “Sofa, be still my heart!”


  1. 1 Suki's Mom March 19, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Yes! Get the couch! Although I’m not sure what $899 ends up being in American dollars. I’ll have to look it up when I’m done posting. Getting new furniture is great, and when it’s on sale it’s even better!

    The only question I have is: are you planning on getting another pug anytime soon? If so, you may want to wait till it’s housebroken. If you’re not, then go for it!

  2. 2 LMizzle March 19, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    I’d like another dog for sure, but it won’t happen until I move into a house!

    Oh, and the couch is $763 in US dollars…good deal?

  3. 3 Hollie March 19, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    It is a good deal
    but after 2 years of owning my big blue couch that my adorable kitty (Sal) just LOVES to puke on, I recommend to everyone with pets, that if you are going to invest in a super sweet couch, get a leather one. My sister has a leather one and she can wipe every foul thing off of it. I envy leather

  4. 4 LMizzle March 19, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Indeed I would, but Steve HATES leather couches with a passion. He says they are too hot in the summer, and too cold in the winter!

    Alas, I loose the couch battle.

  5. 5 Christine March 19, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    It is indeed a sign from the couch gods. The couch and you are meant to be together.

    I have a new couch on order and I can’t wait for it to get here! It’s also a sofa bed which we need for company. I can relate to your couch yearnings.

  6. 6 Suki March 19, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    About the leather thing, I have to agree with Steve. We have a leather couch and they are NOT cozy.

    Also, while you may be able to wipe gross stuff off them easily, ours has ginormous holes from where the dogs dig/scratch. I think they like the leather smell or something.

  7. 7 LMizzle March 19, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Interestingly enough, Suki, when I was at Lazy Boy last night, I was trying a digging sort of motion with my nails to see if they would be able to stand up to that sort of thing, and low and behold most of them could not. Not that I was going around ruining sofas, but I would run a few nails on the leather to see what would happen, and most of the couches showed a wee mark that couldn’t be rubbed out.

  8. 8 Hollie March 20, 2007 at 12:04 am

    I guess there are ups and downs to everything, Why are couches so difficult!?!?

  9. 9 .:missy:. March 20, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Mmmmm, it’s pretty! I say get it! Get the couch! If you can afford it, why not? It really is a good price. And if it’s comfy too? That’s even better!


Leave a Reply

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

