Oh to live downtown…

My general motivation is at an all-time low for the week. It must be the slack attitude of casual Friday. Maybe it was that the dogs woke me up at 6:45am this morning, only to both vomit within 2 minutes of each other ON THE BED. Maybe it was that the dogs managed to wake me up several times before this incident to get on and off the bed…most likely it’s a glorious combo.

I found out two days ago that someone at work is leaving for a month, and that I have to pick up the slack. Apparently working through lunch every day isn’t quite enough. Not only to I have to cover, but I have to learn several new things before this person leaves at the end of the day. Oh boy! Fun!

I’m starting to get a little worried about finding an apartment in August that will allow pets! I realize that it’s only March, but I want to make sure that we get a place…ESPECIALLY if we are going to have to get a new place anyway if our landlord sells our house. It’s too bad because it’s a really nice house and I have a feeling that they’re just going to tear it down. YA JERKS!

On a similarly lame note, I saw a 90-ish year old woman come INCHES from being hit by a bus on the way to a conference yesterday. She was standing on the edge of a cub next to a REALLY busy street (MacLeod Trail downtown by Stephen Ave., if you live here) and was kind of swaying. Then for some reason she started to step out onto the road while the light was still green. A rather large bus was hudling toward her at about 70k, and was honking like mad. My co-worker yelled out, “HEEEY! WATCH OUT!!!” and the woman did nothing but step slightly back onto the curb. The bus missed her by inches as we all looked on in horror. This woman’s face didn’t even flinch! When the light was red, she just hobbled along as if nothing happened, while the rest of us who were standing there were in complete shock! If she would have been hit by that bus, she would have been projected into the crowd of people I was standing in. YIKES! This was one of those moments that happens so fast, all you can do is yell, “eeehhhh!!!” at them, and BAM, the moment is over. I don’t know what I would have done if she would have been hit!!! Poor old lady…I hope she’s okay!

5 Responses to “Oh to live downtown…”


  1. 1 Suki's Mom March 16, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Ha! Your labels for that post are funny!
    That’s scary – I hate moments like that. You constantly think back to it and wonder what would have happened if…?
    Do the pugs sleep in a crate at night or are they free-range dogs? Nice of them to wake you up with the wonderful aroma of puke.

  2. 2 Deidre March 16, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    maybe she was trying to off herself. I mean, being that calm about almost dying!
    When I was younger, an old lady stepped in front of our van. My aunt just stopped and started praying.
    The old lady walked back and forth in front of our vehilce, then layed down on the road. Clearly she wanted to die.
    The really sad part was her daughter came out and got her up and into the house.

    Ooops, I hate being a downer. Reality is sometimes really sad though.

  3. 3 LMizzle March 16, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Deidre: I’ve heard of people doing that here too! I think if I honestly wanted to die that I’d find a faster and perhaps LESS PAINFUL way than laying in front of a car! Some people are just like that I guess! It’s not a downer really as it is a statement about humanity these days.

    Suki: I thought it deserved some interesting titles on the bottom! Both of the pugs sleep with us in bed. They were sleeping on the floor initially, but I read that if you work a lot and aren’t home during the day, that you can reinforce pack mentality by sleeping with your dogs. Someday when we have more I imagine we’ll have to do something about it, but for now it’s not too much of a hassle. Only on the days where they wake me up 100 times and then puke…you know how it is. :0)

  4. 4 Princess Pointful March 16, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Sorry things are so lame. That really sucks that they aren’t doing anything to cover for your coworkers except throwing more work at you!

    Your story and Deidre’s reminded me of how my exboyfriend, who was a train conductor, was in the train when someone attempted suicide by sitting on the tracks. Thankfully, he survived… but it certainly put the people on the train through a lot.

  5. 5 Manda Girl March 17, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Yikes, that’s a crapperdoodle way to start the day. I hope the pugs are ok!

    We were driving in Inglewood one day (around where your doggie training is) and this old man was wandering in the busy street. People stopped to let him cross, but then he started walking towards our car and asked us if we could take him to the flea market!!! I was only a few more blocks so I said OK. I think he got off the bus too soon and was confused about where to go. Kind of sad….


Leave a Reply

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


