Steve is my hero!

Wow. Steve just did quite possibly the craziest thing I’ve ever seen.

Zelda has been scooting around all night, trying to bite at her feet. I was trying to figure out whether she was bothered by something on her feet, or whether she was scooting because of blocked anal glands. I tried to express her glands in the tub a few times, but nothing came out.

Okay.

Then I tried cleaning her butt and “front butt” if you will, in case that was the problem.

Nothing.

She kept scooting.

I figured I’d have to make a vet appointment, and again pay up for a visit to the vet.

“Let me try.<—-Steve

Really? Okay, let’s go to the tub.

We looked at a website describing how to express a dog’s anal glands and we were off!

I tried again to express her glands and got nothing. Then her little bum turned red.

Awww, we gotta help her!!!

Steve took the reigns.

One squeeze the right way and BLAMO!!! ANAL GLANDED!

I swear this is the craziest thing I have EVER seen. This tiny explosion of brown fluid shot out of her butt like a little water gun. LIKE A WATER GUN.

Each time he squeezed, a little more came out. SO GROSS.

It also made my tub smell like a skanky old street walker.

This is not for the faint of heart! It is certainly a sight to see though!

Good job, honey!

12 Responses to “Steve is my hero!”


  1. 1 Ronin_The_Pug February 8, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Hmmm… we got the same problem with Ron… nothing came out… I don’t think we did it right…

  2. 2 Steve February 8, 2007 at 6:36 am

    I’ll come over and do it for you

  3. 3 Anonymous February 8, 2007 at 7:40 am

    lol, oh i just died a little inside, that was totally amazing.

    AJ

  4. 4 Suki February 8, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    When we brought Suki home I told my older daughter to stay outside with her while I let Twix out to say hi to her (I didn’t think it was a good idea to introduce them inside). Twix went running up to her and Suki yelped with fear and something came out of her butt…I think it was that stuff, whatever you call it. It STUNK!!! Soooo nasty. After she does her stuff outside sometimes she scoots around on the grass. I think my vet charges about $5 to do it…it might be worth it!

  5. 5 Manda Girl February 8, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    awesome! We have done it a couple of times – but purely by accident! The things we do for pugs.

  6. 6 Ultra Toast Mosha God February 8, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks for sharing that.

    Really.

  7. 7 LMizzle February 8, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Ronin: I was doing it wrong too! If you put your index finger and thumb at 5 and 7pm on the “clock” (if you will) and then push gently, you’ll be able to feel the anal glands (if they have stuff in them). Then you push them a little towards each other and then up towards the anus. I swear to God it was the craziest thing I’ve ever seen!
    AJ: Hahahha, it’s all for you my friend. 🙂
    Suki: You’re right, it was anal glanding! The site also said that when pugs get scared they release as a defense mechanism. Not that they’ll do it all the time, but trust me, if it stunk like a stinkly old fishy hobo, that’s what it was!
    Amanda: You’re right! You should have seen how shocked Steve was when he actually did it!
    Ultra: Oh Ultra, you must know by now my love of sharing repulsive, yet hilarious stories of my shenanigans!

  8. 8 Princess Pointful February 8, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Don’t you mean your shennanigans?

    That’s it! My new test of love is willingness to anal gland! I just need to find an anal-glandee.

  9. 9 LMizzle February 8, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    I thank goodness that humans don’t anal gland! Plus it would be wierd to catch a loved one playing with their bum.

  10. 10 My Pugs Blogger February 8, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    Our vet said, if you look at the butt as a clock (like you said) the anal glands are at 8 and 4.

    Also, our previous vet was charging us $45 each DOG to express anal glands and our new and wonderful vet doesn’t charge us anything… so ask first! Some groomers will do it to.

  11. 11 ROENTGEN February 9, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    eeew my god… Björk (sound that sounds like the name of a popular icelandic popsinger)

  12. 12 Sandra February 11, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    That was a really gross story. It gave me the stomach flu. (Actually my nephew did but this coincided)


Leave a Reply

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter


