Hiccup Remedies: FACT OR MYTH?

I just had the hiccups, and I thought I would put an informational post up about what actually works to get rid of the hiccups, and what sucks nuts.

I attempted a few before I found one that worked:

Remedy 1: Holding my breath-MYTH
This didn’t work AT ALL. In fact, I’m pretty sure it made my hiccups worse. Especially when I’d have them and still be holding my breath, thus making my airway feel like a stretched out, old balloon.
Now, if you’re saying to yourself, “hey, this photo has nothing to do with holding my breath?!” you’d be correct! I did find this photo on the first page of a “holding breath” search on google though.

Remedy 2: Getting a loved one to scare me-MYTH
This worked one time on me, but hasn’t worked since. I asked Steve to try and scare me a few times. I think the only outcome of this is that I had to change my underwear.

Remedy 3: Regulating my breathing-MYTH
Sometimes this works. I try and concentrate on when I think I’ll have my next hiccup and try to regulate my breathing. Alas, I ended up choking a little, and still having the hiccups.

Remedy 4: Drinking from the wrong side of a glass-MYTH
I succeeded in looking like a dumbass, but again I was left choking. This is also hard to execute when you have two dogs jumping around you. Not for beginners.

Remedy 5: Holding arms out in a T shape and breathing deeply-MYTH
This pretty much made me want to pass out.

Remedy 6: A spoonful of dry sugar-***WE HAVE A WINNER!!!***
Apparently this works by interrupting your breathing pattern. Either way, a customer at Starbucks told me to do this once and it did indeed work. I rememberd just a few minutes ago and did it again, and got rid of the hiccups! WOHOO!

A spoonful of sugar not only helps the medicine go down, it helps you from choking to death or dying from exhaustion from having the hiccups for 20 minutes straight!

Yahoo!

7 Responses to “Hiccup Remedies: FACT OR MYTH?”


  1. 1 Christine February 7, 2007 at 1:23 am

    The thought makes my teeth hurt! lol

    I usually just live with it and they go away on their own when I forget about them.

    Love the kitty pic πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Suki February 7, 2007 at 1:41 am

    Wow, sugar really works? I’ve always held my breath and although it does make your throat feel like an old stretched out balloon, usually it works for me. I’ve gotta try the sugar next time. It sounds much better!

  3. 3 LMizzle February 7, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Yeah at least it’s not a spoonfull of salt! Sick!

  4. 4 Manda Girl February 7, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I thought you were supposed to hold your breath and swallow…

  5. 5 Princess Pointful February 7, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    I disagree. The drinking water out of the wrong side of the glass has been my very effective hiccup cure since I was around 10!

    I would recommend not doing it with anything by water, though, due to the risk of nasal injestion. Anything carbonated is especially bad.

    The worst was my parents used to swear by plugging your ears, nose, and drinking water all at once. You can’t do that without a partner!

  6. 6 LMizzle February 7, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Yeah that’s getting seriously heavy duty! Isn’t there a remedy where you’re supposed to stand on your head or something?

    OH! I FORGOT! Someone once also told me that rubbing your earlobes would work too, but that also didn’t work for me.

    Maybe I just love sugar a lot…

  7. 7 chaindropz March 2, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    I take two extra strength Tums
    This combines the sugar cure with acid control.
    Sometimes it stops the hiccups immediately.
    Is it better at stopping hiccups than sugar? You decide.

    I am having trouble posting so I hope I post only once.


Leave a Reply

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

