Rip VanWinkle ain’t got NOTHIN’ on me.

I can sleep pretty much anywhere, at any time.  I'm pretty sure I've always been like this, as I have distinct memory of laying on the couch half asleep when I was very young, unwilling to get ready for school.  I literally couldn't will myself to move.  My mom would have to dress my limp body just to ensure that I didn't go to school in my pjamas.  The great thing about that is that what I was wearing would be a surprise every day.  I distinctly remember a purple sweatsuit…
During the time I worked at Starbucks, I was able to counteract the lack of sleep I got (from having to wake up at 4:30am for work) by drinking copious amounts of coffee.  I didn't even LIKE coffee when I started there, and by the end of my three-year stint I was able to down straight shots of espresso to keep myself awake.
When I had to work early at the hospital (6am), there really wasn't a chance to stop and feel tired because there's so much stuff to stock (we're talking around over half of an eight floor hospital).  Only when I was done work did I realize how beat I was.
Now that I've been working in an office setting for almost a year, I have realized that the tiredness is not going away.  I am ALWAYS ready to sleep.  Vitamin deficiency you say?  I don't think so because I am (mostly) a vegetarian who loves to eat tofu.  So far I have never been able to find a "right" amount of sleep.
The only time table that has worked for me has been that I've noticed that I can go to bed at any time, as long as I get up around 10am.  Then, and only then it seems that I don't feel like I am a little person looking out two eyeball windows, controlling this big machine (the rest of my body).
Okay, I'll admit that I miss breakfast every day, but that is in part because I can't seem to get my ass out of bed without hitting snooze at least twice. 
I don't sleep so much as I coma.
"How was your coma?"
"Excellent!  I feel GREAT!"
 
You may also say that I am tired from my medication, which might be true.  If that's the case though, I'm not sure what I can do about that, because believe me, I'd rather be REALLY tired than feel anxious and depressed.  Perhaps another brand of medication?  We will see.
 
What I am also thinking is that I may have some sort of Seasonal Affective Disorder from the lack of sunlight here in the winter.  I'd say the weather turns to poop here around October, and it's not sunny really until about June.  That leaves four months of actual sun.  And that's when June isn't casing a terrential downpour like it has in recent years.
Keeping that in mind, there's only about three months of sun.
Is sunlight the problem?
My house is also faced in such a way that there is only one window that receives the majority of sunlight.  One window on a floor that has around five. 
Could it be that I can sleep 8 hours a night and then easily take a 2 hour nap after work because of the sun?!
 
What is this witchcraft?!?!
 
I'm thinking of buying one of those light therapy doohickeys (yes, that is the technical term).  It shines concentrated, bright light at you that simulates the sun's rays.  You just have to sit with it near you for about a half hour a day.  Apparently if you have SAD, it'll help you by mimicking the sun's rays in your eyes, and that will in turn, regulate your biological clock and get you back to a normal sleeping pattern. 
 
Why not just shine a lamp in your face, you may ask?
 
Because that's crazy.
 
Hahah!
 
This light is set up with bulbs that are different from standard lightbulbs.  Oh if only it were as easy as a $5 lamp from IKEA.
 
I'm thinking of going to Community Natural Foods and checking one out.  Maybe I can try it for a few days, and if it doesn't work, I can bring it back?
 
Either way it's going to be hilarious to look like I've bought my own face-tanning machine.

10 Responses to “Rip VanWinkle ain’t got NOTHIN’ on me.”


  1. 1 Suki January 26, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Wow, only 4 months of sun? That must take a toll on you. Being born and raised in FL, I get depressed if I go for a few days without sun (which might be a problem next winter since we’re moving to Eugene, OR in a few months!) I would try that light therapy doohickey thing…it can’t hurt and I bet you’ll feel a lot better. My mom lived in Edmonton, AB for about 7 years before I was born and she said the same thing about the lack of sunlight.

  2. 2 Manda Girl January 26, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    I totally agree – going to work in the dark and coming home in the dark for months at a time is tiresome. I always feel guilty for falling asleep on the couch at 9:30 every night… but I do get up around 5:30am every morning (even on the weekends!)

    Haha – I loved you memory of your mom getting you dressed in the am. I remember falling asleep on the basement floor (very thin carpet between me and concrete) with my head resting on a dictionary. I can sleep anywhere anytime.

    Do you fall asleep during movies alot? As soon as the room is dark – I’m gonzo.

    Maybe we need a hobby to keep us more active in the evenings?

  3. 3 LMizzle January 26, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Suki: Yeah it’s pretty cloudy here! It’s pretty reasonable weather for pugs though!

    Manda: Yeah I used to watch (well, listen) to Hercules and Spiderman cartoons before school. My mom would carry me out of bed, put me on the couch, change me out of my jammies, put my clothes on, and then I was ready for the day (while still half asleep!). If only I could pay someone to do that for me now…
    You falling asleep on a dictionary brought the LOLs in my office.
    I got sent to my room once and I ended up falling asleep UNDER my bed. I woke up to the sound of my mom yelling at me because she couldn’t find me. All I could see was her feet as she let my room and I was all, “what the deuce is going on?!”
    I ALWAYS got tired in college watching videos because they’d turn out the lights. The WORST feeling in the world is when you are SUPER tired at school and your eyes start fluttering because they are literally CLOSING ON THEIR OWN just to get you to sleep, BUT YOU CAN’T BECAUSE YOU’RE AT SCHOOL!
    So terrible.
    I fall asleep watching movies at home a lot, but if I’m in a theatre I’m usually okay. I fell asleep during the big fight scene in LOTR in the theatre when I saw it though! Go figure that it was the LOUDEST scene and I was like, “huh….where am I?!”
    At least I think that was the first LOTR…
    Thank God I have the pugs to at least get me to go for an hour long walk at night or I’d be sleepin’ it up all damn night!
    I can’t think of anything else to wake me up in the evenings…can you?
    Someone in my office just suggested that I might have Diabetes! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

  4. 4 Manda Girl January 26, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    I don’t know about that – diabetes?

    I’ve had a bunch of blood work done in the past 3 years and I haven’t had anything come up. I thought I had iron deficiencies – but nope.

    I just lazy.

    BUT I was watching a show a couple of weeks ago and they said the best thing you can do for your health is get lots of sleep and my doc told me that I don’t get enough rest. So… there! You are doing it for your health! That beautiful mind needs to re-charge it’s batteries darling.

  5. 5 LMizzle January 26, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Yeah I don’t have an iron deficiency either and I thought I did too!
    I also had my thyroid checked, but nothing.
    I just lazy too!
    I checked stuff on the “betes” and I’m pretty sure I don’t have diabetes because I only have 2 symptoms and they are pretty general.
    I sleep so much though! I mean, I like sleeping, but I’d like to feel more energetic when I’m awake!

  6. 6 Hollie January 26, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Have you tried working out more. If I do work out I feel more energetic, which reminds me I should work out.

    I have falling-asleep-all-the-time problems too. Its a big problem when part of you job is watching other peoples boring presentations about fish enzymes…Sooooo boooring!! I call it closet narcoleptic

    If you are thinking of getting light therapy first find out what wavelength you need for it and check out the lamps at the petstore. I know a lot of fish lights emulate daylight, and I bet they are a lot cheaper

  7. 7 LMizzle January 26, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Whoa! That’s genius! I would have never thought of the fish lamp idea! Thanks!

    I walk for an hour ever day, but that’s about it. Yes, I am admittedly bad at working out. There’s even a gym downstairs in the building I work in. I am tre pathetic on that front! Maybe I should start jogging?

  8. 8 minus January 27, 2007 at 1:05 am

    I would instead suggest finding someone to declare you narcoleptic thus allowing you to fall asleep in your office at random times of the day without fear of termination.

  9. 9 Ultra Toast Mosha God January 27, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I’m gonna suggest that you really try and chow down breakfast every day. It’s worth it. Your body finds it hard to function without that boost of morning energy from food.

    That’s Doctor Toast’s recommendation.

  10. 10 LMizzle January 27, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Thank you Dr. Toast!


Leave a Reply

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
LOOKBOOK.nu: collective fashion consciousness.

Twitter

Flick!

Cloth Habit Bra and Panties

hemlock tee







More Photos

